We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Turkey !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanruya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amanruya to your Saves list
Amanruya
Torba Road, Bodrum City 48483, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise in Turkey !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for the very best in Turkey this is the place , very understated luxury fulfilled to the most excuisit details . The villas are spacious and pure in the Aman style.
The architecture of the place is old turkish rustic looking from the outside when you are inside there is nothing rustic about it , all marble from turkey from the floors to bathroom . The peeble stones are layed all over the site in such a beautiful way the place is a gem for the eyes . The restaurant is very nice and very affordable compaired to the restaurants outside the resort of the same caliber. The service is attentive , helpfull and friendly. The beach is like if you where on a lake , the water is incredible clear ,you got very private corners and you got wifi .The restaurant at the beach is very nice , and the service is emppecable . The 36 villas resort never feels crowded , it is a very private place where you go to relax and not to be seen . Highly recommended ! Worth every $.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The views at Amanruya are not much, BUT, they are more than made up by some of the most beautiful design I have ever seen. Our sea view cottage barely had a sea view. However one look at the decor, our own gorgeous marble infinity pool and our private backyard and I forgot to care. Oh and the special touches, snacks and gifts in the room spoiled us.
The beach is a short buggy ride away which beats the dusty dismal 20 minute walk. When you call for a buggy, it never takes more than five minutes for one to arrive....which gets to the main point- the service is wonderful. Our concierge, Astrid was friendly and helpful. The resort's food and beverage manager- Boris- went above and beyond to make sure my picky husband was happy. The whole staff was friendly and eager to please. If you venture to Bodrum (pretty views but so touristy) the folks at the resort hand you a local phone so you can call the resort easily to pick you up....why don't other resorts do that? (The resort cars are mercedes stocked with cold water and snacks.) And every time you return to the hotel there is always staff to greet you with cool moist towels....what a touch!
A few really minor quibbles- the paths are poorly lit and a resort map would have been helpful but in their defense, they expect everyone to use the buggies which are ready and waiting. TV or video in the exercise room would be appreciated.
A couple of tips- the rocky paths make walking in heels pretty treacherous. This is a couples place- a little dull for kids or teens. If you like to see and be seen, not the resort for you, but perfect if you crave privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent an amazing week at Amanruya in early August. Really a perfect combination of a breathtaking setting, luxurious cottages and top notch service.
Each cottage was incredibly private with a stunning, marble, pool and gardens which made it quite difficult to leave your room! Each day began with fantastic Turkish breakfast and any special requests were always granted. The rooms were exceptionally clean and always with delicious fresh fruits, nuts, figs and Turkish treats. The property was beautifully laid out with a wonderful beachclub on the Aegean which was particularly enjoyed by our teenage children. The staff was delightful (Astrid, Sakiko), the front office manager (Yeshi) was so helpful and informative as were the gracious, lovely husband and wife general managers. Dinners were uniformly delicious and could be enjoyed in a variety of outdoor or indoor settings. We took two amazing excursions. The first was to the magnificent ruins at Ephesus for which the hotel had arranged a wonderful guide, Lale, whose knowledge and enthusiasm truly enriched the experience. We requested Lale for our second excursion to Didyma and Priene which were both fantastic and memorable.
We can't imagine a more perfect vacation and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a really exceptional place to stay - the legendary Aman service at one of the most beautiful spots on the Turkish coast. The setting is exceptional, with the "cottages" arranged around a beautiful unspoilt bay in the manner of a historic Turkish village. The gardens of the cottages are really beautiful, with good sized dark marble pools and inviting day beds. I found the interiors of the cottages to be a bit less special, principally due to the noisy air conditioner directly above the bed and the over-complex blind and shutter system which required one to master 50 or so bolts and latches every morning. Best of all was the stunning beach club, with its fantastic protected sea swimming and excellent informal lunch restaurant. The trip that was arranged for us to Ephesus was also particularly memorable, helped by an excellent guide and the very able driver. The staff at the Amanruya are outstanding and the level of service that they provide matches anything that Aman can offer in its longer established resorts.

Room Tip: Some of the "sea view" rooms see rather little of the sea as they are some way back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived in the Amanruya a week ago at the Airport in Bodrum, It was an easy drive a long the sea to our beautiful property awayfrom all the hassle among lots of olive trees. 36 bungalows, we have Number 8 far away from the Main building but with a beautiful view and a little sea view. The bungalows are very large with large bathrooms, fruit every day and little presentsThe Hotel is not full. If you want to go to the beach Club that is quiet far away (but a nice ride along the sea), they pick you up immediately and drive you there with a little golf cart.No sand just stones and wooden decks and a tables among the trees to have lunch. Very charming. Exellent service.You can have simple salads and wraps, chicken and beef or fish, all very fresh and nicely prepared.My grand children use the paddle boards and the kayaks that are available for free. I also like the lounge chairs under the trees. After lunch we go back for a "siesta", There is a very very large pool near the Main Building (About 50 m) and a nice Spa with a Thai massage therapist that is excellent. Also a library, story hours for kids, films and DVDs for everybody and many interesting books. The Bar in the evening has Turkish Music. In the evening we mostly stay in the Hotel. You can choose Thai food, Turkish Food or just grilled fish or meat. Tonight they offered us a Barbercue for everybody ! We just love it !

Room Tip: I like our room because it is far away from everything, We have a bigger pool than my daughter and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a hotel that we will definitely try to return to. The region is more usually known for low-cost, all-inclusive party hotels... but Amanruya has successfully found a location at the opposite end of the market, well away from any possible disturbance.

The property is hidden away on the Bodrum peninsula, about 40 minutes walk along the coast from the relatively unspoilt harbour village of Torba. The property cannot be seen from the road (with only a discrete, easily missed, sign marking the entrance), and is almost invisible from the other side of the bay.

It appears that the guests in other hotels rarely venture outside their properties, which leaves the lesser-known archeological sites in this region almost empty for the more adventurous tourist. We very much enjoyed hiking up the hills behind the property to enjoy the fantastic views. On one day we had a car drop us at the gates of the ruined city of Pedasa, and walked the 6km downhill back to the hotel -- a memorable trip, with only archeologists to be seen! Another day, we hiked uphill to the ruins above Torba (variously described as either a Cistern or as a Lelegian Tomb), and then downhill through thick thorns into Torba itself (which was rather challenging in Summer, as the thorns are really thick!). The hotel staff provided excellent help in printing out maps from Google, and providing water and emergency phones for all eventualities.

We took the organised tour to Bodrum as well as the breakfast tour to Labranda. Both were excellent, but especially Labranda (a relatively unknown site) was stunning. Again, we were alone except for our driver/waiter and the archaeologists. On the way back we also stopped off at the ruined Becin Castle outside Milas -- well worth the short drive, for the amazing views.

If you decide not to venture outside the hotel, you will still not be disappointed. The villas are excellent, with a high level of privacy/screening, but nevertheless we had an excellent view of the bay. The build quality is very high (but remember that a marble floor can be a little slippery when wet!). The gardens are well matured, and thoughtfully designed -- in future, every time I smell Thyme, I will think of the Thyme beds near the main pool at Amanruya. (One night, it did look as if some local wild pigs had also "appreciated" the Thyme -- but the damage was quickly repaired. We did not see the perpetrators on the property, but did meet some of their relatives while out hiking!).

The restaurants were excellent. Simple, high-quality ingredients, perfectly prepared. Fine dining, but not overdone. We stayed for 7 days, and did not have to repeat our menu choices (though I confess I did have a second Tiramisu, as restaurants rarely achieve the quality that I experienced here!). Daily specials complemented a short but varied menu of Turkish, European and Thai dishes. Also memorable was the fresh peach/apricot juice served at breakfast one morning.

We played tennis early every morning when it was cooler, which appeared to surprise the hotel staff a little! However, they quickly adapted their procedures to ensure that there was cold drinking water available for us. The court is well away from the villas, so that there is no disturbance. On just one day we were bothered by wasps, getting stung twice -- however, that may have been my own fault as I was playing perhaps too aggressively that day!

The staff were excellent, even when the property became busier towards the end of the week. Only once were we asked for our room number -- otherwise, all staff were able to recognise us (they circulate copies of guest passport photos to assist this!). We were never asked to sign a check, but all charges were correctly billed to our room. Buggy drivers were able to drop us in the right place, without asking for names or room numbers. Housekeeping was mostly invisible (unless we surprised them by rushing back from breakfast!). Security was good -- even when we entered the property by an "unusual" route after one of our hikes, we were approached by a member of staff to check that we were indeed guests.

I think that the Aman group has made an excellent investment in this property. Obviously, some people may have concerns with the political situation in Turkey, which might keep guests away in the short term. However, we did not feel at all uneasy in this region. Even in the towns, there was no sign of trouble (which currently seems to be limited to parts of Istanbul). Our Bodrum guide said that he was having a "quiet year with several cancellations", but as far as we could see most people were enjoying "tourism as usual".

Overall it was an excellent experience. The husband & wife general managers (who moved from another Aman property last October) appear to have fixed many problems mentioned in earlier posts, and I am sure that this property will continue to improve under their guidance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A stunning property and villas are sublime in terms of size, decor, attention to detail etc. My first stay at an Aman property and it lived up to the uber-luxurious reputation. The villa garden and pool were also stunning and probably what we enjoyed most about our stay. While breakfast was amazing, we were a little disappointed with in-room dining dinner - small portions and food that didn't blow us away. Others have commented on prices and I won't repeat what is known. Overall though, it is not a place we would choose to stay at again. We were a couple in our late 30's and we just found the place too quiet and somewhat sterile for our tastes. If you're after complete silence and seclusion then perhaps this is the place for you but it wasn't quite our style. However, a great experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanruya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanruya

Address: Torba Road, Bodrum City 48483, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Amanruya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanruya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.