We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood at seaside location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berk Balik Restaurant

Berk Balik Restaurant
Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
252 313 68 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 394 Restaurants in Bodrum City
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Licata, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good seafood at seaside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We enjoyed good mezze at a nearly waterfront table. We ordered only a single seafood appetizer (calamari in garlic sauce), but it proved to be among the best calimari that we had during a summer in Turkey. Had lots of company from local cats and dogs, which enlivened the early evening dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We thinking it's the best in Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

What do you do if you're 4 1 night in Bodrum. You're not experimenting. You go for safe. I wish this restaurant was in my hometown Scheveningen, Holland. I went there every day. Thx & till the next time. Can't wait.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Minimal fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Located on sea front. Best on roof terrace away from pavement traffic and hungry cats.Owner is a character but tries to upsell too much. Excellent fresh fish,well cooked. Prices are high and there are no trimmings or sides unless ordered separately.
Quiet atmosphere and great sea views.
Good mix of locals and tourists.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stop Looking - You've found the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've frequented this restaurant many times whilst I was living in Bodrum, and on a recent visit it just reaffirmed how fabulous it is. I even try to recreate a 'Berk Fish' night at home in the UK. This is what I love about Berk. Don't bother with asking for a menu - they are pretty much there for foreign visitors to look at the translations of what is available. Just walk in staright up to the kitchen area and a full explanation of what is displayed in front of your eyes will be offered. There English is quite adequate, so don't be afraid to ask. Everything is fresh, you can feel confident that everything on offer has been freshly prepared that day. Try asking for a seat upstairs, you might have to book in advance for that though. The main attraction being the Grandad of the family who 'helps' the rest of the staff. He is very entertaining, and will join your table, maybe even burst into song! This is informal dining at it's best, and still having travelled and eaten at some of the best places you can find, it's my No1 favourite!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant is near Halikarnas Club near the castle. If you like your fish this is the place to go, !! You can start off your meal with a selection of Meze starters, which you can choose inside the restaurant yourself. It is very busy place - all the turkish people make reservations early so book in advance if you can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berk Balik Restaurant also viewed

 
Bodrum City, Bodrum
Bodrum City, Bodrum
 

Been to Berk Balik Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berk Balik Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.