We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patara Ruins

Patara Ruins
Patara, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Patara
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Much of the city of Patara remains buried in sand, which has helped to preserve many of the ruins. Of particular interest are the Amphitheatre, Necropolis and the monumental gate or Arch of Triumph.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The ruins are amazing and lots of dedicated people working on them. To see them gives you a sense of times gone by and makes you want to know more of the history of the people and life in the ancient past, well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    33
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nr Rochdale Manchester UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wel worth exploring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Each time I visit this site I see something fresh. That is because there is a certain amount of excavation Archealogical not exploitation going on. There is a small visitor centre at the entrance near the Amphitheatre and Parliament Building. Dnot be put off visiting by the small entrance fee charged at the Toll gate on the beach road. I think you can get a multi entrance pass if you are staying in Patara.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sands of Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I are very interested in archeology, albeit in a very amateur sort of way. That being said, Patara was one of our favorite places in Turkey. There are some very nice things that have been excavated and rebuilt or restored. What is fascinating though is the sense that as you kick around, there is just alot more right under your feet. The ruins are sticking out of the sand everywhere! We especially enjoyed seeing the rebuilding of the lighthouse, dating back to the time of Nero. What an amazing project! It was also special to hike over to the ruins of only one of three extant Roman granaries. Altogether fascinating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Worlds oldest lighthouse, Really intriguing ancient culture, Tombs and writing scattered across the land.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have visited before but they are now doing some restoration work on the Council chamber - very interesting

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patara Ruins also viewed

Tekirova, Antalya Province
Antalya, Antalya Province
 
Antalya, Antalya Province
Antalya, Antalya Province
 

Been to Patara Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patara Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.