We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option in Ankara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ankara Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ankara Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ankara Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bestekar Sok. No 5 Kavaklidere, Ankara 6680, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Ankara
Budapest
2 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Option in Ankara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

On a recent trip with friends to Ankara I stayed here and was very satisfied. The place was very clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast on the rooftop was very good (as were the other meals). I managed to use the sauna and the Turkish bath which were surprisingly clean. There is also a nice exercise room. The hotel is close to the center of the city which is nice. The only drawback, although not a major one, was the internet connection was a little slow, an upgrade would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
8
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't have an idea on the rooms but most adequate for medium scale meeting/workshop organization by having many big/small meeting and workshop rooms.

Staff is very friendly and problem solving.

Location is central.

Their filter-coffee is a must-try!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Came 1 day early to join up with tour group, so only stayed 1 night. It was nice and clean. Came with my wife, and a friend. He got a single room with king bed & sitting area. Mine was 2 single beds. Clean room, Internet was ok.
Did get to visit the gym, and Turkish bath, just to check it out. During the afternoon, no one using any of the facility. Employees there keep it nice & clean, has a sauna, jacuzzi. Too bad we were too tired after flight to use the facility. Morning free breakfast from top floor overlooking Ankara was good view, and adequate selection for breakfast. Lots of cheeses & olives, breads, eggs, vegetables.
Taxi from airport was about 85 Turkish Lira. Hotel arranged morning shuttle (which is someone's private car) for 75 lira. Trip to airport without traffic, about 35 min.
The area around the hotel is more upscale, and we walked around & saw lots of cafe, night clubs & bars. Brought some local kebab wraps, drinks, & fruits for dinner in our friends sitting area. Overall a good experience, without breaking the wallet.

Room Tip: May want a room away from street. I heard the whole neighborhood yelling, found out later there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent two days in Ankara for business.
The hotel is well situated, near a commercial center.
I was at the 7th floor. The room is spacious and well furnished.
The hotel gets everything you need to relax(sports, sauna, hammam, massage, jacuzzi(it was out of order). You will not be able to swim in the swinmming pool.
The restaurant inside it is quite good for reasonable price. The break fast is good(eggs, milk, cereals, ham, cheese), everything you need to start a day.
The staf is always ready to help you.
One drawback: Contruction are always present.

Room Tip: The higher you will be, the best view you get. Choose a bedroom in front of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in Ankara Plaza for one night during my business trip. Food at the terrace restaurant was excellent. Service was neat and staff were very friendly. Location is quiet near to downtown. I can stay there once more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Tehran, Iran
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

PROS:
Everything was clean and modern and the staff were really polite and helpful,specially the reception staff could talk good English (which is rare in Ankara) and were willing to help.The breakfast was included and was really great, probably the best I've seen in 4-star hotels. Another good point for tourists, there is only a 10 min walk to Kizlay which is considered the heart of the city with loads of restaurants ,cafes and shops.
CONS:
Though the wireless internet connection is supposed to work in the rooms, it was soooo poor and during the 6 night stay I could use it just once for a few minutes! However, since I really needed to connect, I asked the reception and they told me there is another wifi available in the lobby which worked. So if you are in a need to connect to the internet, you can ask the staff for the other wifi in the lobby. As one of the other members stated, the hotel was not really "alive" and rooms were a bit small.

Overall, if I want to travel to Ankara again, I would choose to stay in Ankara Plaza :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was invited to speak at a conference jointly organized by the European Commission and the Turkish Police Academy, which was held in the Ankara Plaza Hotel in Kavaklidere, Ankara.
The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are a bit small, but up to the standard one might expect from a four star business hotel.
Meeting room facilities were quite superb. But once the meetings finished in the evening, the hotel was not very 'alive'. Both the hotel restaurant and bar were quite desolate and lonely places, even though the restaurant served quite good food at decent prices.
Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, but their command of English left something to be desired.
For business travelers, having a well functioning wifi system to hook up to the internet, process e-mails etc., is an absolute essential requirement. The system in the Plaza Hotel left a lot to be desired. It was a somewhat erratic adventure to try and hook op to the guest WiFi, especially in the rooms. It sometimes functioned, but most of the time it did not. When it functioned it was good, but when it did not function it was pretty frustrating.
However, overall this is certainly a decent and comfortable hotel. Not one that I will rush to go back to as soon as possible, but I would not mind going back there if my business requires me to stay in Ankara again.
An ironic anecdote: The conference I participated in as an expert speaker was about the work of Turkish law enforcement agencies to combat human trafficking. Most of the audience were fairly high level Turkish police leaders. Right down the street from the hotel, at just about 30-40 meters there were 2 nightclubs that feature women to 'animate' the customers. I dare to bet that most of them were from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova and other former Soviet states and a fair number of them are probably victims of human trafficking. It made me wonder why the conference organizers did not plan a 'field trip' to see up close what we were talking about for two days :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the front (street) side of the building. The view from there is less d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ankara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Plaza Hotel

Address: Bestekar Sok. No 5 Kavaklidere, Ankara 6680, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ankara Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ankara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankara Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;