We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city/business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktif Metropolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aktif Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aktif Metropolitan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 144 hotels in Ankara
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“city/business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

it is classic city/business hotel, clean room, lovely breakfast, really helpfull staff... i stayed one nighth, it is not right in the center but not so far, room was ok, clean and nice and also they had orthopedic pillows, it was really nice, i really enjoyed the breakfast, not so big open buffet but u get what u want and all of them taste good, also serving real fresh orange juice (some hotels mixed fresh and constrate juice)...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean and comfortable hotel room. Decent offerings for buffet breakfast. Would have appreciated a second bottle of water with the room. Our room was a bit warm upon entering, but opening the window helped.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in Ankara for business and stayed at the Aktif Metropolitan. I was happy to have a Turkish colleague with me, cause the staff did not speak much English. This became painfully apparent when I decided to go for a swim in the hotel pool. I was stopped before I entered the dressing room by two women exclaiming loudly in Turkish. After several minutes of trying to communicate, it was established that you need a swimming cap to go to the pool. Which they of course charged extra for. I wasn't too happy about this and just decided to go to the gym then. The gym is definitely a lot bigger and better equipped than an average hotel gym. Too bad some of the equipment was rather old and there was no air conditioning at the gym, which I must say I missed greatly. The rooms were clean and spacious, and if you like hard pillows (which I do) then boy are you in luck! My only issue with the room was the shower/bathtub combo, which was a bit hard to get in to and out from. Breakfast was included and had plenty to choose from so no complaints there. Wifi was rather slow but also included. The location of the hotel was nice in regards of there being olenty of restaurants within a short walking distance (if you don't speak Turkush, you might have a hard time managing though, as non of the restaurants staffs seemed to speak a single word of English) but it is also means that it is located just along a big road, so prepare to hear some traffic noises as well. I could imagine staying here again if there is a second visit to Ankara.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two nights here. This is not a 5 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The air conditioning did not work except to make a lot of noise and not produce any cold air. The bed only had a thick duvet, no option in te wardrobe for a sheet or light covering, in te heat of summer.The room was small, thin walls allowed us to hear next door's TV at 3am, the bathroom was quite shabby and old fashioned with a very high deep bath that was difficult to climb into to have a shower. This hotel needs to rate itself as maximum 3 star and charge accordingly. Staff were helpful, parking easy, location not great but of no consequence. We were forced to wear bathing caps wehn using the swimming pool, but no 5 star hotel would charge for them, it looked very petty and only one free bottle of water.im are we could have done much better for the money

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great Hotel with good service and great breakfast. It is centrally located in Ankara. The staff is pleasant and enjoyable. The only problem was that the swimming pool and fitness center was being renovated and was closed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Beautiful, modern, practically new hotel. Very good breakfast. Not very conveniently located, but with a driver I didn't have to worry about getting around. Excellent staff. The Turkish bath and massage were truly a cultural experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

everything was really excellent,clean rooms ,friendly customer service,gorgeous breakfast,my little boy loves this Hotel and keeps askiong to book it again,I definitely recommend this.swimming pool was clean and the Turkish bath was beautifull.

Room Tip: corner family rooms are large and comfy enough for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aktif Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aktif Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aktif Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aktif Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktif Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.