We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, but wouldn't call it a 5-star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Ankara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Ankara to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Ankara
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey (Formerly Aktif Metropolitan Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Ankara
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Better than average, but wouldn't call it a 5-star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in Ankara for business and stayed at the Aktif Metropolitan. I was happy to have a Turkish colleague with me, cause the staff did not speak much English. This became painfully apparent when I decided to go for a swim in the hotel pool. I was stopped before I entered the dressing room by two women exclaiming loudly in Turkish. After several minutes of trying to communicate, it was established that you need a swimming cap to go to the pool. Which they of course charged extra for. I wasn't too happy about this and just decided to go to the gym then. The gym is definitely a lot bigger and better equipped than an average hotel gym. Too bad some of the equipment was rather old and there was no air conditioning at the gym, which I must say I missed greatly. The rooms were clean and spacious, and if you like hard pillows (which I do) then boy are you in luck! My only issue with the room was the shower/bathtub combo, which was a bit hard to get in to and out from. Breakfast was included and had plenty to choose from so no complaints there. Wifi was rather slow but also included. The location of the hotel was nice in regards of there being olenty of restaurants within a short walking distance (if you don't speak Turkush, you might have a hard time managing though, as non of the restaurants staffs seemed to speak a single word of English) but it is also means that it is located just along a big road, so prepare to hear some traffic noises as well. I could imagine staying here again if there is a second visit to Ankara.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just spent two nights here. This is not a 5 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The air conditioning did not work except to make a lot of noise and not produce any cold air. The bed only had a thick duvet, no option in te wardrobe for a sheet or light covering, in te heat of summer.The room was small, thin walls allowed us to hear next door's TV at 3am, the bathroom was quite shabby and old fashioned with a very high deep bath that was difficult to climb into to have a shower. This hotel needs to rate itself as maximum 3 star and charge accordingly. Staff were helpful, parking easy, location not great but of no consequence. We were forced to wear bathing caps wehn using the swimming pool, but no 5 star hotel would charge for them, it looked very petty and only one free bottle of water.im are we could have done much better for the money

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great Hotel with good service and great breakfast. It is centrally located in Ankara. The staff is pleasant and enjoyable. The only problem was that the swimming pool and fitness center was being renovated and was closed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Beautiful, modern, practically new hotel. Very good breakfast. Not very conveniently located, but with a driver I didn't have to worry about getting around. Excellent staff. The Turkish bath and massage were truly a cultural experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredgrandfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

everything was really excellent,clean rooms ,friendly customer service,gorgeous breakfast,my little boy loves this Hotel and keeps askiong to book it again,I definitely recommend this.swimming pool was clean and the Turkish bath was beautifull.

Room Tip: corner family rooms are large and comfy enough for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice modern hotel. We only stayed there one night on a tour, but missed having wine at dinner. Rooms were very clean ans comfortable. Wifi access didn't work at all. Minimum English speaking staff. Seemed a bit remote.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Exept the fact that there is no alcohol service in the hotel it was a plesent stay. The rooms were clean and the staff nice and helpful.
It could be good choice for one night business trips. If more than one night choose another hotel which is close to city and has a bar that you can sit and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Can E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Çankaya
Holiday Inn Ankara - Cukurambar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#4 of 160 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Wyndham Ankara
#10 of 160 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Ankara

Address: Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey (Formerly Aktif Metropolitan Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing