We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay with Aktif” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Ankara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Ankara to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Ankara
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey (Formerly Aktif Metropolitan Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First stay with Aktif”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel during an 11-day road trip through Turkey with a couple of colleagues. The hotel is very nice, facilities are modern, and staff helpful; being an English speaker, I had to rely on the few staffers who were comfortable speaking English.

Room Tip: My room was North-facing and although I could see the highways, I could not hear them at all. This w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
8
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

As a university conference speaker, I chose the Aktif due to its amenities, in particular the gym facilities, since my son who is in training for a university needed two-a-day workouts. The Aktif has a fairly good weight room-not state-of-the art but adequate. However, the next day of our week stay we were told that the facilities including the pool and weight room would be closed for the remainder of the month. We were not apprised of this in advance. When I tried to speak with the manger about this, he was not available. Something like OZ, he preferred speaking through front desk personnel. His response was that Booking.com through whom we booked was responsible for communicating to us this information. So he was not willing to make nay kind of accomodation although the information on the hotel website does not mention any closure of pool or gym facilities. Needless to say this is a kind of misrepresentation.

Waiters tend to be very reserved, slow, detached. Several times I had to approach a waiter for a cup of coffee, or for a glass of water. They tend to prefer to congregate and chat. This may well be a cultural phenomenon and may be a good way to reduce stress on the job. However, it tends to be irritating if you are a hotel guest.

Another example of a kind of strange niggardliness. Upon arrival the hotel provides a single bottle of water (free) per room, but only for the first day. After that you must buy everything. They have a well stocked mini-bar and baskets of munchies around the room but at near comic prices.

They also provide two cylandrical packets of Jacobs instant coffee-for the first day. Then you are to call for room service if you want an early cup of coffee. The Aktif is a five star hotel with a one-star mentality. I feel embarrassed for them

All in all, the hotel is overpriced and oddly unresponsive to guests' concerns. Management needs to re-think its philosphy on guest services and on open communication with guest prior to and during the hotel stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruda Slaska, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is almost new hotel. They've made a renovation in march/april 2010 so it's even better(ie. LCD's instead of CRT's). Room wasn't too big but what's interesting - every room has a huge window with a nice view on Ankara(or a view of next building ;) ) so remember to take a correct side - on left side you have best rooms! Breakfast is quite OK but be aware of eggs - 3 minute eggs in Metropolitan means: 1 minute of boiling so it's not a good way to start your day.
There's free fitness area with sauna, massage, ping pong table, swimming pool, jaccuzi, etc. What's werid is that you need to wear a cap on your head - otherwise, even if your bold, they will not let you inside the swimming pool. Very strange.
You also need to be aware about internet connection - wireless network inside hotel is terrible and your connection will be terminated vey often. They can't do anything(or they don't know how) about this so forget about Skype in your room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

I stayed in this hotel in April 2009 as a conference speaker. The hotel is quite far away from downtown Ankara and not really close to anything except for a highway to Konya. It will take you a smaller fortune to get there from the airport by taxi, or even to get to downtown from here.
The room was nice and modern, the room service and the minibar selection was fine, too.
The TV selection was not very good, 80% of the channels were turkish, maybe there were CNN and one or two German and French channels.
The hamam (turkish massage) service was a scam, the whole thing took maybe 10 minutes and the guy expected me to tip for almost nothing.
In the swimming pool you had to wear a swimmcap, which is also a bit strange in a hotel pool.
The breakfast was okay, althogh you had to pay extra for an ommelette, which I found strange.
The dinner was tasty.
After all, I would reccomend this hotel and would stay here again, but the management should be working harder to satisfy more the needs of international businessmen. But after all, the problems I experienced were rather smallish issues.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Ankara

Address: Oguzlar Mah. Konya Yolu 1377. Sok. No:28 Balgat, Cankaya, Ankara 065220, Turkey (Formerly Aktif Metropolitan Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Ankara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.