We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asal Hotel Ankara

Asal Hotel Ankara
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asal Hotel Ankara to your Saves list
Asal Hotel Ankara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankiri Cad. No:29 Ulus, Altindag, Ankara 06030, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 145 Hotels in Ankara
Saint Donat, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice facilities. Very helpfull staff. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Bathroom needs to be refreshed: some mildew around the bathtub.

The front rooms, which are the best, open on a very busy and noisy street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pesaro
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I did like too much this hotel. The rooms are very poor, and the bathroom had mildew around the bath tub, courtesy kits were poor like the rooms.
They do not have iron on the hotel, so it is not possible to press shirts.
The wi-fi is free, but in the room where I was almost impossible to reach the signal.
The staff is kind.
I think that is easy to find something better at a similar price.

Room Tip: In front of the hotel there is a street with a lot of traffic, ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's always interesting to read other comments- I had no smell of smoke!
My room was a little small, but others were ok (was Twin).
Yes, it is towards the seedier end of town, but if you're coming home from dinner by 11pm then it's not really an issue and you'd never really know. During the day we walked around and found a great fruit market (and fish- but no way to cook it!) and enjoyed our stay.
Didn't hear the traffic- but my room was facing the otherside and windows seemed sound proof.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellenbosch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

this hotel is very centrally located, but the rooms all smell like ashtrays.
ideal for smokers

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Ankara Asal is located in the Ulus district, which is an older, if seedier, part of town. However, there a lot of shops in the area as well as some dining options. Rooms were a bit small though reasonably clean. However, the lighting in the corridor was very dim. In fact, it is completely dark unless human presence activates the motion sensor lights. However, this is normal for Turkish hotels. It got a little noisy outside even at 3 to 4AM in the morning. Shouting from the street as well as the cars passing by are very much audible even 5 floors or more above ground.

We had dinner in the hotel which was okay. Was served a traditional Turkish meal. It was okay. We had to check out early the next day at 6AM but the hotel let us have breakfast early because we were a big group.

Save for the issues noted above, the hotel wasn't quite up to experctations though it certainly isn't anywhere near the worst. Would probably consider staying elsewhere during future visits to Ankara mainly because of location and the noise outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Our stay at the Asal Hotel was part of a small group tour; however, we did book an additional 4 nights there prior to the start of our tour.

The Asal is located in Ulus, the older part of town a bit north of the newer city. Transport by bus or taxi is readily available, as the hotel is on one of the main streets, Cankiri Caddesi. We chose to walk to all the principal attractions in the Old City and several of them in the newer part as well.

The Asal was a very comfortable, well-appointed and modern hotel probably in the 2+ star range. The staff were friendly, efficient and went out of their way to help us. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the entire hotel seemed well maintained.

The restaurant provided an extensive breakfast buffet each day and had a complete dinner menu as well.

Overall, the Asal fit our needs quite well and we would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — distance from newer part of city and some attractions
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asal Hotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asal Hotel Ankara

Address: Cankiri Cad. No:29 Ulus, Altindag, Ankara 06030, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 145 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asal Hotel Ankara 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Asal Hotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asal Hotel Ankara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.