We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ogulturk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Verda Hotel

Grand Verda Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Verda Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Verda Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruzgarli Esdost Sok. No:6 Ulus/Ismetpasa, Altindag, Ankara 06030, Turkey (Formerly Ogulturk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 145 Hotels in Ankara
Lisbon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ogulturk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had an OK stay at this hotel. It’s unfair to mention the annoying noise coming from the street because of road work construction, but that is my most vivid memory of the two nights we spent here. Of course, that problem is solved by now. The rooms are old and the bed wasn’t very comfortable. Staff could have been more helpful and caring.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The staff here were very helpful with providing information and also allowed us to leaves some luggage behind for 3 days when we went to Cappadocia. The old city may have a bad reputation but we loved the location, close to a lot of the sights. The breakfast was amazing! The weren't super elegant but were clean and comfortable. The in floor heating in the bathroom sometimes was too warm but we certainly slept well and enjoyed our stay. It was also right around the corner to our favourite restaurant that sold the best kebaps in Ankara, öğün köfte, we went there three times in a week!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our room was spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. Of all the wonderful breakfasts we had in Turkey, the "spread" put out by Ogulturk Hotel was the best. Incredible number of choices, and breakfast was included in the Hotel charge.
We were within walking distance of the Anatolian Civilization Museum, the Citadel, and the Haci Bayram Mosque and could access the bus line easily for other sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Typical of many in the area, "hollywood front - wild west rear". Attractive foyer masks an othersie crap hotel.

Room facilties basic and shower/bath dirty and erratric operation. Maid leaves door wide open after servicing the room. I asked for a sink plug because I need to clean contact lenses - no way! When I bought one in town it disappeared next day after room serviciing!
Directly oustide the hotel is a brothel and a couple of noisy bars.
Breakfast is limited and not very appetising or healthy. Wifi is erratic.
Only saving grace is that the Hotel is close to tourists spots.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

First, it´s hard to find the hoteland we didn´t feel comfortable to go out alone at night in this part of the city, because looks like knd of dangerous.
The rooms there looks old and there´sa lot of dusty, at least in the rooms that we stayed. In the first room that we stay was not clean, a lot of dusty, the shower was broken and when my mom took a bath was water in everywhere.
The secound room was with a lot of dusty 2 but at least the shower was working, so if u stay there make sure that the shower is ok!
Because of the location there´s a lot of noise, but when u r too tired u forgot about those things.
The staff there is more or less, some was very kind but the other people was kind of rude, like the girl in the reception and the guy who change our room.
The only thing good there is the price, is very cheap for a hotel in Ankara.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matkaman
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I am happy with the hotel and my girlfriend was also.
Breakfast was ok. Room was clean, bathroom was good (you heard the neigboard room noice from the bathroom air whole...but it is not a big issue :) you can just close the door :)

Bad thing was that hotel was far a way from the centrum. But lucky there is a metro stop about 10min walk from the hotel.

There was a WI-FI also for free. But it was cutting off cuite often.

Also A/C was working very well!!! it also had a remote.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Excellent location right near Dolmus. Red light area not a big issue .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Verda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Verda Hotel

Address: Ruzgarli Esdost Sok. No:6 Ulus/Ismetpasa, Altindag, Ankara 06030, Turkey (Formerly Ogulturk)
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 145 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Verda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel which is located in ULUS, one of the selected and historical districts of Ankara, has focused on a service understanding which aims the satisfaction of you esteemed guests on the ground of its sectoral experience and renewed infrastructure. The satisfaction and all kinds of security of our guests have constituted the main base of studies in our hotel which is chosen by the families in general. As a city and business world hotel, the foundation of our price policy is a stable price structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Verda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogulturk Hotel Ankara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Verda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.