We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, nice - would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Guvenlik

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King Guvenlik to your Saves list
King Guvenlik
Guvenlik Cad. No:13 Ayranci, Cankaya, Ankara 06540, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“quiet, nice - would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

friendly, helpful staff welcomed us at the hotel, which is a quiet respite near the US embassy. The breakfast, pool, and room were nice. The restaurant bade'm two doors up and other cafes and bakeries a few blocks up offer further alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

On a business trip to Ankara, we were recommended this hotel as being quiet and comfortable. I arranged an airport collection by e-mail (50TL compared with the 60-70 others paid using airport taxis) as I was arriving late at night, and the reception staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful

Breakfast was consistent and plentiful - self-service - muesli and cornflakes with dried fruits, hard boiled eggs, salad, cold meats, cheese, white and brown bread for toasting, fruit salad, yogurt, hot sausages (hot dog style in tomato sauce) with omelettes made to order, extremely good orange juice, tea or coffee

Rooms were spacious, with TV, mini bar (aka useful fridge!), and good sized desk with power sockets - and free WiFi!

Bathroom had excellent shower over bath, with bathrobe and shower cap - my only criticism would be that it was lacking in toiletries (shampoo and soap only), but as most travellers take their own, I doubt if it is really a problem

Helpful staff arranged transfers to and from the airport and stored my case for me while I was away, and allowed me to stay in the room until I left at 1pm for my flight

A street full of restaurants is about a 10 minute walk away directly parallel to and behind Ataturk Boulevard (didn't try the hotel restaurant) and taxis are plentiful. Take a card from reception which has a map of the hotel

The hotel is opposite an army barracks, so if you're lucky you'll get serenaded with marching music and singing in the afternoon!

Swimming pool not yet open, but the fitness room has a treadmill and exercise bike. Didn't try the bike, but the treadmill, albeit basic, was working fine

There's a supermarket about 50 yards away open until late, and the restaurant just up the hill is good (although English is very limited). Meatballs in a clay pot were excellent! I was advised to avoid Kebap44 which is also quite local

Location-wise, it was close to the offices I was visiting, so very convenient for me, but taxis are plentiful (if you walk down the hill and through the park, there's a taxi rank on Ataturk Boulevard). Very close to the Austrian, German and American Embassies

All in all, a very pleasant stay in a very friendly hotel

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The rooms are airy and well appointed. It is more a business than a tourist hotel, and we got an excellent impression overall. Perhaps it is a bit too far away from restaurants and shops, but if you like to walk it is not too big a problem. Taxis are plentiful if you need them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I loved this place. I arrived exhausted after an overnight train journey, some three hours before I was technically supposed to check in. Not only was my room ready for me at 9am but it was larger than some places I've lived in. As a solo business traveller on a limited budget you do tend to end up with a cupboard under the stairs or overlooking a chicken farm - this place was enormous, silent, and spotless. It had a kitchen, for God's sake. The staff were immensely helpful - in fact, I couldn't have managed without them, especially in interpreting garbled directions to taxi drivers. I genuinely regretted leaving this hotel and would return in a heartbeat (not least as I never got a chance to try out the pool).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We arrived at this hotel about 11pm after travelling all day from Southern Spain. The taxi had no trouble finding it, we were met by porter who took our luggage and welcomed us to hotel. The reception was manned and very helpful about facilities available, sign in procedure was fast and efficient. There is comfortable lounge and bar. The porter then took us to our room which was a fairly large en suite (all in good working order) main area had sofa coffee table and chairs, desk, tea/coffee making facilities AND a kitchen complete with 2 ring cooker, toaster.

Breakfast was a choice of cereals (limited) dried/fresh fruits, yogurts,cold meats, cheeses and salads, pickles. Good choice of breads/rolls with toaster, coffee/tea fruit juice and water. We did not eat dinner so cannot comment on it, I did have toasted cheese sandwich with side salad for lunch one day which was promptly served, well presented and delicious.

The staff were at all times very pleasant,helpful and informative. Maps directions and recommendations for eating places. They ordered and instructed taxis on our destinations.

The hotel is in a quiet area with parks, shops eating places etc all within walking distance or by short taxi ride.

Dafne Restaurant can be recommened, great selection of starters, good service by knowlegable staff. Great food.

Bit more pricey especially the wine, we also really enjoyed Tike again great meze selection, fantastic kebaps, the semolina desert was superb,service was excellent. Definately worth a visit.

Also recommened are the Spice Curry House, Mangal and Quick China which does chinese, thai, sushi.

A very pleasant stay all round.

  • Liked — Helpful friendly staff, good location.
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit to firm.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed at the King Hotel for two days in July of 2008, and while the hotel itself was comfotable and adequate, the staff was intolerable. The grumpy and disaffected front desk receptionists (all three of them) completely ruined my holiday; I avoided coming and going freely just to avoid an encounter with them. They seemed to treat "regulars" with an entirely different brand of hospitality, although I would argue that my money was just as good as theirs. Avoid this hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Guvenlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Guvenlik

Address: Guvenlik Cad. No:13 Ayranci, Cankaya, Ankara 06540, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your King Guvenlik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Guvenlik Ankara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Guvenlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.