We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gordion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ankara Gordion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ankara Gordion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 1 more site!
Ankara Gordion Hotel
Buklum Sok. No:59 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06660, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 141 hotels in Ankara
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Gordion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was nice and clean and had a great service staff. Breakfast buffet was a little sparse however, with no orange juice, only fruit juice of some kind. Not a lot of selection but food was ok. Room was clean and mostly quiet, had to open the window as the air conditioner seemed to be turned off. So a little street noise but not too bad. Located on a busy street so if you like to walk around the area it is great for that. Location in city center was not close to where we were going but eventually found our way. Room was outfitted with older furniture and the mattress was more than a little lumpy, but you had your choice of pillows. Actually too much furniture and bolsters. Looked ok, but room would have been better without all that stuff in there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisier than in other locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
6
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had our wedding reception here in May 2013. Nice hotel and room (we had the wedding suite which is a lovely room I can't fault) but its a terrible shame they have a few incompetent staff that tried their hardest to ruin our special day. First of all they lied about everything, costs changed, rooms that were included suddenly weren't, cakes that were included suddenly they wanted to charge extra for until we threatened to book elsewhere and they reverted to the original agreement. GET EVERYTHING in WRITING or they lie through their teeth. Then on the actual day they didn't set p a table for me and my wife. Can you imagine, no table for the married couple? How incompetent! We did our 'prestigious' walk into the wedding room, accompanied by beautiful music, did our wedding dance, looked around - not table for us!! Totally incompetent how could they forget that? Anyhow, we sat on a table with other guests and the evening began. The band that performed half Turkish half English music according to the hotel didn't know any English music but ok no big shakes we all had a great time. Then, halfway through the evening the incompetent manager dragged us from our party to reception to pay in advance for the music and the photographers. Like we couldn't have settled up with the hotel in the morning? Just poorly trained staff and poorly organised event. Nor did it help that all of our guests (and us) were hassled all night long from the first 5 minutes by waiters asking for tips. On the morning of checkout - tried to scam us for another 1000 lira stating we'd not paid a deposit, luckily I saved the receipt. As I said - get everything in writing or if you take my advice book another venue until the owners get some staff how know what they're doing and actually care about peoples wedding days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Gordion Hotel is located on Tunali Street which is a live neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops, and also a nice street to walk along as it ends to a lush park up north. The hotel is designed in vintage style with antique-like furniture and warm colors all over the place. Rooms are spacious enough and well decorated to give you a very special feeling of a somehow luxurious hotel. However, bathrooms are NOT on a par with what you expect from a 4 start hotel with such chic decoration. Faucets and other fittings are old and about to be out of order for any given NEXT guest. Walls of the rooms are a bit thin as you can hear the noise from other rooms especially on the 3rd floor where I stayed for almost a week. Also windows were not really double layered cause outside noise (especially during the riot time) wouldn't let me sleep well. Now let's get to some tasty stuff. Breakfast was not much exciting however they would make some changes in what you could eat to make it a little diverse. Having said that, you could find fresh fruits, cereals, cold milk, boiled eggs and some special bread called simit at the breakfast time. Staff were friendly and very helpful, always ready to give you what you asked for. Gym and pool were almost okay for a 4 start and one could at least burn the extra tire they would gain eating doner and other fatty Turkish food.
Ankara is a beautiful city and Gordion Hotel adds up to the pleasant experience you expect.

Room Tip: Don't forget your slippers (theirs are awfully thin and sticky) Minibar items are 4 times the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Gordion offers a olde worldy feel - lovely lobby, great staff - but the room and fittings give an almost tired rather than antique impression - and if you are interested in basics such as good tea and coffee in the room, a brilliant shower, sound-proofing against other guests - and a stunning breakfast - this is not the place - better head for the Limak Ambassadore around 1 km away. On the other hand, the location is right beside a main shopping centre, coffee bars, restaurants and clubettes on all sides. There is a great gym and pool and the usual Turkish specials. Maybe the breakfast chef was on holiday while I was there? Not my first choice for Ankara - but other contributors seem to rate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayakoy, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in Gordion many years ago for the first time. Somehow my review disappeared. So time for a new review after staying here again.
Mainly İ noticed that the hotel maintains the same quality. The rooms are classy and nicely decorated (with Vakko). The location is perfect, you can go shopping, enjoy a drink in a lovely cafe, have a dinner in one of the many restaurants in the area. Or just go for a walk and enjoy the modern city life.
There is a tv, cd player, wifi connection, minibar, a welcoming fruit bowl...
The price is good too, what else... the hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly, there is a car park, breakfast is excellent. We just could not try the dinners here as the restaurant was not open in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would highly recommend satying at this hotel for several reasons. The main reasons would be that the price is right, the rooms are very comforable and the gym is very good as well. They also have a pool, sauna, massages etc.. I usually stay at the Ramada next door and have kicked myself several times after staying at the Gordion. I can't say that the restaurant at the hotel is fantastic but I can say that the corner is surrounded by a variety of restaurants and shopping. It is a really good location.

Room Tip: I have no tips to finding a good room, but I had one overlooking the street and did not have a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's really a great joy to experience great services (reception, food, waiters, wi-fi, sauna, pool and gym) and location in Ankara (Tunali Hilmi, lots of shops, etc). The management has paid extreme attention to lots of details (bars, breakfast arrangements, pillow cocktail, walls finishing, taxi arrangements. I stayed there during winter and summer and there were no problems with the heating or conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ankara Gordion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Gordion Hotel

Address: Buklum Sok. No:59 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06660, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 141 hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ankara Gordion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankara Gordion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.