We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, pillows and buffet breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Ankara Altinel

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Ankara Altinel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Ankara Altinel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gazi Mustafa Kemal (GMK) Bulvari 151, Tandogan | Tandogan, Ankara 06570, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 142 hotels in Ankara
Amalfi, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bed, pillows and buffet breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The four pillows on the huge beds were a great plus! We stayed two nights on our way to Cappadocia. A great start to a great holiday. We went to the Ataturk mausoleum and visited the old town . Had delicious first meal downtown. The hotel was clean, discreet with the best of buffet breakfasts - there was something for everyone! Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    81
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
53
25
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I arrived at this hotel quite late at night so arranged an airport transfer with them. The driver was waiting at Ankara airport and the journey back to the hotel took less than half an hour.
The room was enormous, so much so that it felt like taking a walk whenever you went to the toilet. The facilities were fine. Others have commented on the AC, but it worked OK in my room. The wi fi was OK and the breakfast adequate if not spectacular.
Location is a bit of an issue if you aren't prepared to walk. The mausoleum of Ataturk is easy, that's only 800 yards away, but the old city, where the citadel and Museum of Anatolean Civilisations is located is not the easiest to reach. What made things harder was that the map given out by reception was not to scale and concentrated on the location of shopping malls rather than museums.
Reception did advise that I got a cab, but I decided to go on foot and ended up walking three miles, with the last mile being up a pretty steep hill. Not much fun in 36 degrees when you are completely out of shape! To be fair, it should have been two miles, had I had a decent map.
Thankfully, a mile and a half into the return trek I found a metro station and got back quicker.
As a result, I stuck to sites on the Metro on the second day of my stay which was pretty boring to be honest. Furthermore, whereas there are some smoky cafes in the vicinity of the hotel, Ankara's nice restaurants are quite a long way away. The hotel restaurant is OK, but it's menu is limited and slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a fading beauty, Barcelo Ankara, certainly shows its age. While rooms are comfy and clean, hotel infrastructure needs a major investment - A/C barely works ( a disaster in Ankara summer heat ), hotel pool is closed ( hotel still advertises pool as open ), gym (???) is awful, underground garage looks like a dungeon, etc. On the positive side is metro stop and Migros across the street, proximity to Ataturk memorial and park, wifi working in guest rooms and in the lobby, restaurant staff was great, front office looked like they were permanently mad.
Overall rating is very good, since the price was right ( on Priceline ) and my stay was short.
Barcelo folks should add this property on their priority maintenance list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this very nice hotel towards the end of our 3 week vacation in Turkey. Having been traveling to more rustic locations, the room seemed very spacious to us, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom/shower excellent. Others have commented on the location but for us it was fine as we could walk to the places we wanted to visit including the Ataturk Mausoleum and the Anatolian Civilizations Museum. The front desk staff were not particularly helpful and discouraged us from walking to the museum saying we would get lost but fortunately one of the porters gave us good advice and showed us on the map a very good way to get there. Our room rate did not include breakfast and the breakfast buffet was quite expensive so we chose to eat at one of the nearby restaurants and had wonderful breakfasts for a fraction of the cost. There were lots of good and inexpensive restaurants quite close to the hotel and we ate very well during our 2 days there. All in all, a pleasant and comfortable stay at the Barcelo Ankara Altinel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was there for 2 nights. I'm 62 and my son 36. For us the most important issue was the location. This hotel is a little bite far from the center. You must use taxi every time. The second issue was the AC. Ac was not working, so at this time of the year it's very difficult to get rest after a long day. The staff are not very helpful, specially in the spa area. No towels no AC in the fitness, no water too. It's nice to put a lot of services on the ads but we must provide it.

I will not return at this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo six nights in June. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We had a flat TV but BBC World was the only English channel, and there was no film channel, despite the promise in the hotel's brochure. There was a safety box in the room and an a kettle for making tea and coffee. WiFi worked well throughout our stay. The AC worked perfectly.
We had a shower in the bathroom but no bathtub. The bathroom was nice but a bit worn-out. You get basic toiletries every day, especially if used up, but I got the razor only twice during the stay, and some other things were scarce.
Cleaning is good but you must understand what to do to get fresh towels and sheets. There was some filthy, brown dirt in the corner of the shower cabinet, close to the floor.
There is a business center in the hotel where you can use PCs, with Windows in Turkish, and a printer. I had to connect the printer to my notebook to get it work, when I needed it, because it wouldn't start from the hotel's PC.
The hotel has a pool but it was closed for maintenance.
We had no meals at the hotel but there is a plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance.
The location is not exactly in the center, but we considered it good. If you have time and like walking, you can reach all the attractions on foot. The underground is only a few steps away. There is a plenty of bus lines just in front of the hotel but using buses in Ankara is tricky for a stranger.

Room Tip: Try restaurant Hanedan Kebab at Dögol Cd, a couple of hundred meters from the hotel, for a turkish m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms a little cramped but two large beds with a generous selection of pillows. Turkish bath is free, but we did not expect that the roommitself was like a Turkish bath, so impossibly hot that we felt as if we were running a temperature. Complained twice but we were told that the hotel was full so airconditioning could not cope. Even if that were true, it is hardly an excuse in a luxury hotel. The number in the dining room, which was also impossibly hot, did not suggest full occupancy. There are nice tables in the garden which were at least cooler. Unfortunately the airconditioning spoiled the whole visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Ankara Altinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ankara Altinel

Address: Gazi Mustafa Kemal (GMK) Bulvari 151, Tandogan | Tandogan, Ankara 06570, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ankara
#11 Business Hotel in Ankara
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Ankara Altinel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ankara, 300m away from Atatürk's Mausoleum and 5 minutes away from the city center by metro, Barcelo Ankara Altinel, featuring 172 fully equipped guestrooms and suites, 2 restaurants, bar, 2000 sq.m. of meeting and banqueting facilities including a panoramic Pool Lounge with a breathtaking view over the city and a full range of other services and facilities, is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Ankara Altinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ankara Altinel Hotel Ankara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Ankara Altinel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.