We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View was great, but not the way up.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ankara Citadel (Hisar)

Ankara Citadel (Hisar)
Ankara, Turkey (Çankaya)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Ankara Sightseeing
Ranked #16 of 81 Attractions in Ankara
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The foundations of this structure were laid by Galatians and eventually completed by the Romans. Located atop a hill in the old city, the area inside the citadel contains many fine examples of traditional architecture.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“View was great, but not the way up.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you're in town for a few days and want to get the best view, the Citadel is where it's at.
Unfortunately when I was there in Feb 2013, there were a lot of construction going on in the town. The top of the citadel itself is fine. A bit dangerous though if it's too windy as there's no protective barriers. The top almost gives you a 360 degree view and I happened to be there on a sunny day and it was very memorable.
There are two ways to get up there, one via the main road and the stairs that lead through the 'ghettos'. The whole area was beat up, ground broken and generally dirty. Just take a pinch of salt when you head up there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    83
    52
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just a Citadel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We didn't find any "inside". It's just a big old wall in a very poor neighborhood.

I felt really sad for the children that were following us around hoping to get some money. We usually don't give money in these situations in order to discourage children from growing up to be beggars, but it was still very very sad.

The park close-by has public bathrooms, but it is very dirty. The women's room didn't have running water when we were visiting so I had to sneak in the men's room to wash my hands.

The bazar located close-by was small, but pretty cool.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have been to the Ankara citadel a few times now. It has never failed to impress me how its original state has been kept 'alive', and how real it feels. They view is great, you can see over a large part of the scattered Ankara. You must be physically capable to climb it though, there are many stairs, and no securings. So make sure you don't suffer from heights or you might be dizzy! Also if there is strong wind, I would not go.
Nonetheless, it is a great experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Citadel and a village in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This impressive walled hilltop is being actively restored at present. For now, it is an almost car-free village in the middle of a modern city, a great place to just wander through, climbing the walls occasionally to see the views sprawling Ankara below and into the distance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“construction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was a pity that the Citadel was in construction on Oct.2012, the place was so dirty, full of dust and noise, inside nothing to see, better to enjoy it from the distance, sorry for the lovely restaurants in the area

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ankara Citadel (Hisar) also viewed

Ankara, Ankara Province
Ankara, Ankara Province
 

Been to Ankara Citadel (Hisar)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankara Citadel (Hisar), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.