We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noktali Sok. No:1 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Ankara
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A very special hotel well located. Its annex to Sheraton and has access from there in addition to its own. Very nice hall and cosy. Rooms are nice and well furbished. Personnel well trained and smiling. You really feel at home. Its a real luxury hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Er K,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about Lugal.
We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed our Luxury Hotel brand.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Ankara.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

They are connected to Sheraton. You can access Sheraton lobby directly from the elevator. from thier you can go to the mall after going down the stairs. Hotel is nice with well trained and professional staff. In the breakfast I didnt find much selection and I was the only person in the resturant during my 3 day stay. May be it was off season.

Room Tip: I didnt notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Nasir I,

Thank you very much for choosing Lugal for your stay and also taking your time to express your experiences with us.

We appreciated to see that you enjoyed the hotel, services and the surroundings. As you guessed, your stay was right before a Turkish National Holiday and within the off season of Ankara.

I am sure during your next visit there will be more guests with you at the restaurant. Our Aruni restaurant & Bar located at Lugat, reopened freshly with a brand new concept of Anatolian experiences. We are expecting to welcome you again to taste the food in a not so far away future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First a little background. We arrived at the hotel during the time of the recent demonstrations and learned that our reservations had apparently been cancelled. Our travel agency in New York was closed because of the time difference. The hotel staff calmly and repeatedly reassured us that everything would be taken care of and, in an act of generosity, gave us a room upgrade. They urged us to forget about it and to enjoy our day. After returning to the hotel later that evening, they informed us they had spoken with New York and restored all the reservations for our entire trip which had been cancelled by accident. This could have been a nightmare but the hotel staff completely defused it and turned it instead into an amusing anecdote. Now to the hotel.

It is elegant with very stylish public areas, and very spacious guest rooms. Our suite had two bathrooms, each of was was large and nicely appointed. Given the number of guests on our floor it was surprisingly quiet. We only ate breakfasts at the hotel and the service was very good and the food was quite good, though the fresh fruit could have been slightly riper.

The staff made excellent recommendations for our daily activities and for some outstanding restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Whenever we encountered a staff member, they were solicitous, friendly and professional. I put them on a par with Ritz-Carlton and The Four Seasons.

The hotel itself is not terribly close to the airport but is in a very nice area and right next door to an upscale shopping mall, should you need anything.

We had a few problems with the wi-fi in the rooms because the hotel was transitioning to a new system. Presumably it will be fixed by now.

One tip: when returning to the hotel by taxi, ask the driver to take you to the Sheraton which is better known and adjoins the Lugal.

Bottom line: couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, Complex General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear NJ_Mike_2009,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experiences with us.
We were delighted to hear that the team looked after you well and you also enjoyed our facilities.

Our new internet system transition period is now completed and the next time when you stay with us you will have no problems with it.

Hope to see you soon at Lugal again...

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bichelsee Balterswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The Lugal is part of the Ankara Sheraton. There is a seperated entrance, but still you can easily use Sheratons entry and even the check-in desk. The rooms are good, but getting a bit old now. Bathroom and Shower are better than average. The amenities for SPG Ambassadors are great, even my favorite drink was prepared and waiting for me in my room.
But - and that's a tragedy - the breakfast killed everything. They offer a la carte breakfast, but neither the selection nor the service is ok for a "luxury collection" hotel.
I really felt not welcomed at all, it was as if it was a burden for them to serve me and my colleagues the breakfast. No individual attendendance, not any awareness of customer expectations. The breakfast was a disaster and I would always go to Sheratons breakfast if I would have to stay at the Lugal again. In my opinion it's better not to pay extra for the Lugal - it is simply not worth it as long as you don't use the room for more than sleeping.
It wa obvious that they executed the given procedures but did not live them by heart.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear runsaroundtheworld,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, so that we can improve ourselves.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our facility but we are sorry for letting you down during the breakfast. Upon your comment, we will look closer to the service and the breakfast selection.

Hope to see you soon at Lugal and give you the service you expected. Please do not hesite to contact me for all your questions and comments.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really they deliver excellent service with a personal touch. Breakfast is excellent. The rooms are quiet and with nice view. Their only problem is that the card key has to be re-programmed almost daily! Good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Damian O,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your pleasant experiences with us.

Unfortunately we might experience this trouble with the key cards as sometimes when they are placed together with other magnetic cards or close to laptops, they may lose their functions.

I am glad that you enjoyed the premises and had good experiences with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Ankara.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Noktali Sok. No:1 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center - the Kavaklidere district, our gift-box shape hotel provides captivating vistas of prestigious nearby sights, including verdant parks, renowned restaurants, premier shops, and more. Combining traditional Turkish hospitality with modern needs, our premier amenities—from a health club with fitness center and indoor pool to fabled restaurants offering unrivaled domestic and international cuisine—guarantee an indelible stay. Reflective of Ankara’s classic, contemporary character, our 91 refined guest rooms and suites feature warm hues and thoughtful details, like marble bathrooms and Cinq Mondes bath amenities, while floor-to-ceiling windows boast distinctive city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.