We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location - noisy nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ankara Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ankara Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Ankara Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ziya Gokalp Caddesi No:8 | Kizilay, Ankara, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Handy location - noisy nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Princess Hotel is perfect for access to business locations in Central Ankara and the multitude of eating places in the close vicinity. The rooms are generous in size and mine was very clean and well appointed in a Turkish way. It is good value and the breakfast buffet had extraordinary variety to suit all tastes. My room looked on to a busy main road and as I was out until quite late with my Turkish hosts it seemed quiet. However when I decided to retire early I realised this was a noisy spot better perhaps not to be on that side of the building. Nonetheless excellent value and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel is located in busy neighboorhood. Shops and restaurants nearby. Rooms smelly (old smoke) and moldy at windows. My window could not be locked, so all noise from street below can be heard.
Breakfast in poorly lit basement restaurant. No fresh coffee. Floor with old carpets, also smelly.
Staff has little or no English language knowledge.
Bell boy expected tip and was mad when not given. Performance did not justify tip.
Never again. If longer stays will be necessary I'll Check in higher standard hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel room was very clean and comfy. Room service was great too. You can have all kinds of tasty foods from breakfast buffet, but I would liked to see more Turkish foods on the table. The staff were very friendly and helpful but unfortunately the only English speaking person on the staff was the chef! The manager speaks English well but she is not always there so if you need any special service or help, you have to either use a few Turkish words, or use hand and body gestures. Overall, communication with the staff can be a little disappointing. I had a little problem with the noise from outside and the rooms nearby but you get used to it after a day o two. The A/C also works fine.
The location of the hotel is perfect for solo travelers but can be a little crowded for families. It is right at the center of the city where there are many restaurants such as famous fast foods and Turkish restaurants. It gets very crowded at noon and night and you can see many local people in these restaurants. They have the greatest Donners and turkish food here at a reasonable price. There are also a lot of cafes, pubs and clubs nearby.
There are many shopping malls and local markets and you can find anything you need within a walking distance. I also bought some baklava from Haci Baba (15 minute walk from hotel) which I heard had the best baklava in the city. It is a little more expensive but I think it is worth trying.
Since the hotel is in the center of the city, you can travel by public transportation anywhere you want. The main metro station, many bus stations are nearby. I traveled by bus from and to the airport with only 6 TL and they were very comfy.
I really liked the experience overall, but I don't think it is the place for families.

Room Tip: The WiFi is a little weak for rooms at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

An old hotel in the central Kızılay Avenue. Rooms are well decorated and big enough. Breakfast is OK. But rooms are really cold. Only air conditioning is not enough for Ankara. I could get warm in two hours after arrival. Reception is slow. Rooms are non smoking but smells really bad.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel few times, staff there very nice and helpful, but hotel itself is the terrible, smell of cigarettes is everywhere, AC does not chill rooms in summer and does not provide heat in winter.breakfast is ok, but other things are very bad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ankara Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Princess Hotel

Address: Ziya Gokalp Caddesi No:8 | Kizilay, Ankara, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ankara Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ankara Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankara Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.