We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite go-to Japanese place in the Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omakase

Omakase
2/F Intrepid Plaza Bldg., E. Rodriguez Ave., Libis, Quezon City, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 1,078 restaurants in Quezon City
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A definite go-to Japanese place in the Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

I was introduced to Omakase by an officemate who was raving about this place and promised to treat us there..... The treat did not happen but I got intrigued enough to try it on my own. So I asked my foodie buddy to take me there and see for ourselves...

And we were impressed...

We arrived at the store near their closing time but they still let us in, took our orders graciously, and suggested food that eventually become our regular orders.

Their bento meal servings are filling and reasonably priced... Their seaweed salad is delicious and their Tuna Tataki is just perfect and heavenly..

This place is highly recommended and is one of the best Japanese restaurants in the country.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    9
    21
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Japanese food in Libis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Sure, location may not be great but you have to try their food. I had the katsudon which was flavorful, try the ouster and tofu

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“getting worse!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

went back last Friday dinner to attend a birthday party. food still okay but the place is looking run down. worse - plenty of small cockroaches running around - especially in areas where they keep the "clean" plates to be used by new customers!

waiters/waitresses don't seem to mind...maybe they expect their customers to not mind also!!!

people used to line up to get into this place...this time on a friday night the place was half empty - not a very good sign! i also don't see the owners around anymore...

i will not go back unless i have to (attend a party or something)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh take on Japanese fusion cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I are both fans of sushi and makimono. On the side, I am also apt to try nabemono and ramen while my wife likes yakimono. That said, this restaurant was a refreshing find.

The maki and sushi are simply divine. We visited several times over the year and it seemed like their rolls' delectability never deviated from the last one we had. Top amongst those we tried were the dynamite roll, mt. fuji roll, the spider maki and the jurassic roll.

Their nabe are ok as well. Though I would rather reserve space for their maki because they are simply addictive.

The teriyaki chicken was so-so. I've had the same quality from Teriyaki Boy (except Teriyaki Boy's makimono are not up to par with Omakase's).

Do you get what I am trying to push across? Right! Try their maki. That alone makes the trip to Omakase worth it (even if the rest of their menu are still quite good).

Oh, as a last note: If you are looking for traditional Japanese cuisine, this is not the place. Their specialty is fusion and a fresh take on modern Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not the real thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The food is neither good nor bad - but it's definitely not authentic. They've added too much pizzaz that the mayo on their sushi chokes. And the worst part is, they served me cold Aspara beef rolls! Service and price fair.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omakase also viewed

Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 
Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Omakase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omakase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.