We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hermanos Taco Shop

Hermanos Taco Shop
#27 Granada Avenue | corner Jose O. Vera St., Quezon City, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #461 of 1,069 Restaurants in Quezon City
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/ilovehermanostacoshop
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/ilovehermanostacoshop
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Went here last month for a quick lunch, based on the recommendations of friends and relatives who swear by this place.

Located in a gas station, expectations for the venue were not that high. Indeed the small restaurant with bare interiors, save for the colorful walls and wall of celebrity pictures is plain and average. Although airconditioned, when I visited the restaurant only had an electric fan on with flies hovering around.

Ambiance and facilities can be easily overlooked however, provided the food quality is good. On this aspect, hermanos unfortunately fails in my book.

For all the hype about its food, hermanos is a disappointment.

I ordered a large asada burrito and an orange soda for almost P400 (P300 for the burrito and P75) which was clearly overpriced for the average quality of the food. While the serving was quite large and the salsa accompanying it fresh and delicious - tne burrito itself was disappointing.

The burrito was made up of probably 85 percent rice 10 percent meat and 5 percent - making it too bland for my flavor. There was just too much rice! So much so that it was a struggle deciphering the taste if the guacamole that was supposedly mixed into it. A large serving of bland food is never appealing and becomea a struggle to finish.

While the food was not necessarily bad - for the price, it was way overpriced for what at best was just an average meal - delivering very little value for money.

Though other items on the menu may be better; my personal experience of hermanos given the hype surrounding it was sadly dissapointing.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Nachos (Carne Asada Chips) EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRR!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Whenever we're walking along Greenhills Town Center, I have always noticed this little shop across the street, it's the Hermanos Taco Shop, tried eating here for 2 times already, tried the burritos, rolled fish tacos (?), carne asada chips and etc. It's a bit pricey, but on some, you'll be surprised how big the serving is, so it's really worth your money! I haven't tried a lot of mexican restaurants but this one is a good choice. Try to stop by and grab some real mexican food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best Mexican food i've had in the PH (but that's not saying much, really)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Disclaimer-- I haven't been to Mexico so I don't know what "real" Mexican food is. However, I've been to San Francisco, San Diego, and Los Angeles and frequently ate at Mexican restaurants there, from taco trucks to upscale restaurants. Based on that experience, I think Hermano's is the closest thing Metro Manila has to authentic Mexican food (ok, Tex-Mex for purists out there). The flavour profile reminds me of Mexican food I've had all over California. To manage your expectations, this would be a so-so Mexican restaurant in San Diego or San Francisco that won't even be memorable, but in Metro Manila it is stellar (thus the excellent food rating).

The restaurant is self-service, but they are helpful enough. It is located right beside a gas station shop, although the in-house restroom is clean enough. The prices are quite steep-- P350+ for a burrito and about P200 for tacos-- but the serving sizes are huge. Most orders come with a side of nachos, but they are too few (like 4-5 pieces) that they look more like an afterthought. Extra salsa will also cost you (boo!).

But bottomline it's the food that brings me back here. Best fish taco in the city, and it's the only place I know that serves horchata. I tried the tamales (with) once but I found the texture all wrong: too gummy like it's been overcooked. But other than that the food is good. Again, nothing special in San Diego, but great considering you're in Manila. Given the price points, I'd consider this a treat rather than a regular meal.

Having had Mexican food in California ruined all Mexican restaurants in Manila for me, but Hermano's is at least good enough for me to eat Mexican food in Manila again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Been a fan ever since they opened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We accidentally discovered this little mexican restaurant when we were filling up gas at the Petron station where its located. And boy did they keep us coming back for more! Their mexican food is more of the California type according to the owner (who is part mexican and Filipino), the chef though (his dad) is a real mexican. And they were the only mexican resto ive eaten that served the drink Horchata. The house specialty is the soft shell taco and the burritos. And on weekends they serve mexican style menudo (which is an acquired taste).

Be warned dont let the size of the fat burrito mislead you...it can get really filling. I pride myself on being a heavy eater but just one of those fat babies and my stomach cant handle anything more.

Prices are a bit high compared to other mexican restaurants in Manila but for the the price is worth the authentic taste. Cant count how many friends and relatives ive brought to this place and not a single one of them had any complaints.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
“I LOVE IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hermanos tacos gave a new definition to the word mexican! The beef nachos was amazing instead of using groundbeef they use cube beef cuts! It was amazing. Also the fish tacos was an epic experience! would love to go back again.+

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermanos Taco Shop also viewed

Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 
Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Hermanos Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermanos Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.