We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there overnight a few times over the years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila
31 Bayview Drive | Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 103 hotels in Manila
Haikou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed there overnight a few times over the years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I'm an English teacher here in China but go on frequent short trips to various S.E. Asia destinations so have stayed overnight at The Townhouse a few times over the past years. Each time the type of room I booked was different as this place isn't like any other typical budget hotel in S.E Asia. A couple of time I wasn't thrilled with the room which is a bit spartan like without amenities and a couple of times I was quite happy with the room I had. The staff seems to change each time I arrive and I've only met the owners, Bill and Lorna once but each time their staff were friendly enough. I'll continue to stay there as I really don't like over populated Manila so like to go directly to the provinces and beaches and it's the best location with the cheapest prices for my needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    20
    8
    30
See reviews for
11
29
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Okayama, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I booked this overgrown sewer because it was in Lonely Planet and it seemed OK and modestly priced for a one night stopover before flying to Boracay. The worst mistake we ever made in our lives. The room was like something out of a doss house for the homeless and the bathroom was straight out of a horror film, (could only just bring ourselves to use the toilet). The bed was so dirty looking that my wife placed a towel on top and lay on that rather than risk the sheets and dirty bedding, nevertheless she was badly bitten by bed bugs. I opted to suffer the plastic patio chair instead and sat under the whirring fan all night as the trucks thundered by outside sending their noxious black fumes through the slatted window. Mosquitos joined the smoke to make our misery complete. It was like the black hole of Calcutta, hot, humid, stinking and deeply uncomfortable. We didn't stop for breakfast but scarpered as soon as possible. A member of staff led us down the filthy, wet alley to the main coast highway with it's attendant smog and thundering traffic until a taxi stopped for us.
Never again. I suspect that whoever writes the nice reviews for this place either works there or is the owner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I booked this Hotel online as it was close to the airport, indicated aircon & transfer service on it's Web Site and would be a convenient/easy one night stop over for my wife and child....... my wife sent me her REVIEW from Manila - enjoy:

'We are here in Manila right now. We got here @ the century town hotel around 11am. The Place is SUCKS. I am very disappointed. No SERVICE at all. I would rather pay 50 bucks than 5 buck and misserable. Just to let you know everything is expensive here. We do not expect because only 5 buck or $10 and close to the airport is great. I have to stop here because I am going to explode now. NO TV NO AC I will talk to you more later. Please do not do this with us again. I know you do not know either the place but becUSE YOU ARE KEEP thinking of cheap and cheap.'

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Townhouse hotel is two houses in the middle and towards the end of a dark alley. The main building is relatively safer than the annexe that should never be used. There is no security in either building and the annexe has a gate that is able to be easily opened from the outside.

The staff are okay but the beds and pillows smell and rooms often have issues such as cockroaches, taps and toilets not working.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Hi all like you guys i read the reviews on this place and thought sounds OK reasonable price so I fell into the trap and booked a night nearly paid for the week to save money!! thank fully i didnt and paid the one night..... well was given a room with no water for loo cold shower and a curtain that was less than half the size of the window..... so at night i had people saying hello at night so i went and asked for another room, given a better room so i thought water was working so managed to use the loo then, in the morning I woke up after being bitten all nite by bed bugs the bed was full of them..... whole place was a building site, I am a real person from the UK and honest only thing i can come up with after reading the reviews of this place on different sites is that the owner is doing his own reviews as no one in there right mind would say this place is any good unless there used to bed bugs and staying in a dirty house...... please save money and travel into the city citys more here charges P950 for there room with aircon you can get a hotel with a pool for P1400 in the city in paco park area, but everywhere is better than manila so get out of the city as soon as you can!!! and never get the new yellow cabs there charge you P580 to go from airport to hotels and drive round in circules such a con. cebu city and angeles city are 2 good places to go and hotels for a good clean place P640 to P880 so enjoy and dont stay here ever.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skagit flats washington state
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

from the emails i received before arrival, i thought this place would be at least ok..
the owner writes a great greeting and information piece when you inquire ...but, my oh my... the reality is something else entirely..... the floor was falling apart.... the toilet paper was not available...the rate was so so , the place was dirty , the staff sullen.... i can not rate this low enough...
i think the owner is american, (i am) and if he is, he should be ashamed of himself for presenting this hotel hostel whatever as something it clearly is NOT....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I checked in and this place was so bad I just left without even asking for my money back. The room was like a cell and nothing worked. Heck - even the mirror was cracked. Can we say Detroit Crack house equivalent!
Save you Pesos and sleep on the street - it is cleaner than here.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Address: 31 Bayview Drive | Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Townhouse was opened as a hobby, after we'd traveled, worked and were lucky with business in Asia, Europe, and the U.S.A. for almost ten years. We'd stayed in bamboo, beach huts, Asian guesthouses, Spanish pensionnes, American and European campgrounds, hostels, Korean yeogwans and Japanese ryokans on shoestring budgets. We hooked up 'on the road' while traveling in Hong Kong, Korea and Japan in Dec 83, got married 2 years later in 85, decided to have a baby and knowing we'd miss the energy, excitement and adventure of world travel opened the door of our 3 bedroom 2 bath townhouse for travelers as a hobby in 86 which has grown and evolved to the present 35 private rooms with 8 rates from P300 to P950 and 4 bed dormitory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.