We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable in Manila” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelworld.com HostelBookers.com
Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila
31 Bayview Drive | Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Manila
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Affordable in Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hard to beat the prices at this budget hotel, but a warm welcome from staff and guests [mainly foreign tourists]. Close to Mall of Asia and airport. Do not expect the Ritz, but clean and affordable. I have been staying here for the past 9 years when passing through Manila and will continue to do so. TV reception in rooms is poor, but the hot showers work. Great for those visiting Philippines for first time because you get loads of advice from seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    20
    7
    29
See reviews for
11
29
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kruger National Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Reading feedback from everybody, made me book my family in this place. Truly this place is accessible, good staff (in fact, very good!) and most of all, value for money. Everything went well, from the time I made bookings online, to the phone calls I made, it was perfect! Keep it up guys! Truly this place is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

From the dirty toilet to roaches and rats roaming the place and unprofessional staff..i would say everything negative i had observed from my stay with villa carolina in the past has been mentioned here..now it's up to the owner if they can take things professionally and do something about it or they can close their mind and turn off their ears to the multiple complaints of disappointed customers..One thing is for sure...i ain't going back to this place ever again until i'm convinced everything has improved.

Room Tip: Add a little more to your budget and go find other hotels in Pasay city which is also near the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The location was good, the cab driver could not find it, I ended up walking and finding it on my own after reading the directions they sent me, Wifi in common area was good. Room was huge. Saw some cockroaches but what do you expect? Airport transfer is 120$ might be cheaper in jeepny...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We booked a room here and told them that our flight was getting in late at night and we asked if this was an issue. They said that it wouldn't be, but when we got there they told us that they had no rooms for us!

We were very upset and had to go back to the airport to sleep, although it might have been a good thing. From what I saw of the townhouse looked very run down and dirty. I just wish we didn't have to waste a taxi ride to figure that out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I am in my late fifties and have stayed at the Townhouse Hostel with my wife on a number of occasions whilst visiitng the Philippines. Indeed I have just booked in for another stay in early 2012 when I plan visiting friends in the north of the country

The location of the Townhouse, being so close to the airport, makes it a very convenient stopping and starting point for anyone coming to the Philippines. The owners are at pains to give you advance guidance as to how to negotiate the airport and get a taxi to their place at a reasonable rate or to collect you by prior arrangement. They are also willing to provide transport to the aiport at the end of your stay at a very reasonable rate which is a great relief.

The Townhouse is a hostel and not a hotel, and as such its aim is to provide for the basic needs of other travellers, particularly those travelling light such as backpackers. Indeed the owners are themselves seasoned travellers with a great deal of pesonal expereince of travelling in very many countries and as such have an acute awareness of the needs of travellers. In the Townhouse, there are a variety of private and shared rooms at different rates and it has facilities for basic food and drinks at reasonable prices. After a long outward plane journey, or indeed prior to such a trip coming home and after living in some pretty basic conditions elsewhere in the Philippines, we have always appreciated a comfortable bed and warm shower (anything else is a bonus). The staff and owners have always have been very helpful and are more than willing to share advice regarding your stay in the Philippines. The hostel is now equipped with WiFi in the pucblic areas, which we have found a rel boon.

The Townhouse is a meeting place for people from all round the world. Generally the people using the place are young (by our standards), but even at our vast age we have been made to feel welcome. Those staying there need not feel that they are confined to the hostel as locally there are a number of eating places and it is very close to one of the largest shopping malls in Asia where just about everything is available. Buses and taxis to other parts of Manila are available within a few hundred yards.

To sum up the reason why we continue to use this hostel is that it is simply such a convient location and great value for money. Do not expect luxury - it is a hostel not a hotel, but it does do what it purports to do.

Room Tip: Check the availability before you get arrive and reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

And that is why I always head for the TownHouse. I have been going to PI since October 1993 and during October 2011 made my 30th trip into Philippines. I am a Globetrotter with 84 countries to my credit and four circles of the globe. During each trip I stay at TownHouse on arrival since it is close to the airport and for the friendlyness of the staff. Normally after two to three days I am off to other islands for a few weeks. However, at the end of my island hopping wonderings and en route back to my loving dogs at home, I stay at Townhouse again. If I calculate that, it would amount to sixty(60) stays to present.
There is an independent food consessioner located in the front lobby, who supplies good wholesome food and beverages at a very reasonable price, considering the alternative of having to walk out in the rain or catch transportation to the next nearest location.
I have always found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The owners Bill and Lorna are also seasoned Globetrotters and can advise you on travel to just about any place on earth. Employing their unique experience of being Travelers rather than Tourists, they organized the TownHouse to accommodate and cater to that special breed of mobil clientele. This is the place to meet other travelers and to exchange ideas and get first hand information on the long road.

Room Tip: I prefer room with AC, however, if it is not available a fan will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Manila
Address: 31 Bayview Drive | Paranaque City, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Townhouse was opened as a hobby, after we'd traveled, worked and were lucky with business in Asia, Europe, and the U.S.A. for almost ten years. We'd stayed in bamboo, beach huts, Asian guesthouses, Spanish pensionnes, American and European campgrounds, hostels, Korean yeogwans and Japanese ryokans on shoestring budgets. We hooked up 'on the road' while traveling in Hong Kong, Korea and Japan in Dec 83, got married 2 years later in 85, decided to have a baby and knowing we'd miss the energy, excitement and adventure of world travel opened the door of our 3 bedroom 2 bath townhouse for travelers as a hobby in 86 which has grown and evolved to the present 35 private rooms with 8 rates from P300 to P950 and 4 bed dormitory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.