We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outworn hotel at a relativelky high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Hotel

Southern Cross Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Cross Hotel
1125 Del Pilar St. Ermita | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 11155, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“outworn hotel at a relativelky high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

positive:
close to Rizal Park and Intramuros
banks, restaurants and bars around - good nightlife

negative:
loud air con
outworn furniture
price is too high for the quality of the rooms
cleanliness of the room/bathroom

Room Tip: higher floor, to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
11
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I Saw this hotel get created from an old office block by it's original owners back in 2007. They had the best of intentions of making it the best value hotel in Ermita but as time went on, they like most businesses in the Philippines are up against it , having said that, it does have good hot water because they got 2 big Aussie HWSs. and the Bar is nice with good pool tables. I stayed in one of the better rooms on the top floor and it was spacious, nice big bathroom , good but old split system aircon. Major downside is that Ermita has really gone to the dogs in recent times. The hotel is also secure. I found the staff ok. It is my second pick to the Duck Inn, I recommend staying there instead of say...the slouch hat across the road.

Room Tip: Lift is small and slow , might pay to stay near the ground if you want to get in and out a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I made reservations here based off of decent reviews on TripAdvisor and the fact that I needed a place to go when my plane landed. I was able to catch a shuttle to the hotel, but not without waiting for about 30 minutes and borrowing a cell phone.The location of the hotel was not to my liking at all, in what I later found out was the Red Light District. The Philippines can cause enough culture shock as is but arriving at this hotel and then venturing out for some food among families sleeping on the sidewalk and prostitutes resulted in bad culture shock for me. I barely slept while I was there and found new accommodations as soon as I could in the morning. I wasn't brave enough to venture back to Ermita. I recommend the Tower Inn in Makati.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before, well 6 months ago to be exact, and thought it was reasonable - still do but with reservations! The reception staff need major lessons in PR! They are rude, unhelpful and what annoyed me the most, disinterested in you as a guest-everything is too much trouble. They are more interested in getting your cash than anything else.
Room - as expected, old and tired with tiny bathroom. A good point - good pressure and hot water.
Food - better than average but a bit overpriced.
Bar - cold beer, cold bar staff unless you're known to them - they too need a revision of basic service and PR.
Airport transfer - one word, arrange your own or share with others - the hotel charge 600php but give driver only 350php - save yourself the 250 and seek own transfer.
The Southern Cross Shuttle Service is good and recommended but hotel, so so and not enjoyable.

Room Tip: Probably go for more expensive room type but all are tired and need an upgrade/renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyld
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. First thing I noticed it was cheaper to book a room "on spec" than by booking on the internet! The reception area and lift is very small, check in was quick and friendly. The room was internal, no windows. The room was clean and there was no noise from the bar downstairs. It was an ideal place to spend a few days, a good base to see many of the attractions. The bar was good, draught beer!!! Plenty of nightlife and malls in the area too! Only issue I had was with the taxis waiting outside. On the morning I left the only taxi waiting quoted me 1200 pesos to travel to bagong Silang. I flagged down a taxi instead and the cost was only 480!!! But my stay there was good and I would happily go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed in Malate at least once a year for the last 10 years. After experiencing worsening conditions at the Swagman Hotel I was looking for another hotel in the area for accommodation. This hotel is just around the corner from the Swagman. The rooms are neat, tidy and clean with the basic amenities provided. The cost is around 2000 pesos a night which is reasonably for what you are getting. The food is tasty but the proportions provided are less than what one would expect if you come from the 'States' or Australia. This is an area they really need to improve on if they want people to eat in.

If you want to eat out try the "Cowboy Grill" nearby. This is one of the best Grills in Manila if you like good bands with a nice atmosphere.

Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. A small bar is found on the ground floor with a pool table provided. The hotel will arrange transport to the airport for around 350 pesos. While this is reasonable you should be able to get to the airport for around 250 pesos or less in a ,metered taxi.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors and opposite the main street outside. The meals provided by the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I "found" this hotel when travelling on shuttle bus Subic to Angeles run by Southern Cross transport and was looking for an alternative for overnighting in Manila. On arrival, check in was quick and efficiently completed. The lift creaked and groaned to the fifth floor - an experience in its self. The room, deluxe, was large with decent ensuite. Not sure if the bed was queens size but it was comfortable with good linen. Old noisy air con was a negative. Good hot water and pressure.
The bar/restaurant area is quite small but serves its purpose - I was here on a Saturday night and the place was packed - one man band for entertainment and live AFL, NRL and Bledistoe Cup match on big screen TV's. Cold draft beer and reasonable food on offer.
Back to the room - although a busy part of town, didn't experience too much noise, not saying it was quiet though.
Overall, a good find for short stays. Yes, would/will stay stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Hotel

Address: 1125 Del Pilar St. Ermita | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 11155, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.