We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropped my reservation....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Hotel

Southern Cross Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Cross Hotel to your Saves list
Southern Cross Hotel
1125 Del Pilar St. Ermita | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 11155, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Seattle, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dropped my reservation....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

They not only screwed up my reservation and offered a much worse room in a nearby (sister) hotel. I had no choice late evening after a long bus ride.

To add insult to injury they charged me for online booking as if I had made the reservation and did not show up.

Room Tip: Look online. If you are in Ermita, Manial area there are very nice hotels. Southern Cross is a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
11
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had visited here several times for a meal but never used the hotel for accommodation. Stayed one night recently and was pleasantly surprised. The room I was in was quite large, very comfortable. Staff are very pleasant, very quick check-in and out. Free WiFi in the bar area. Close enough to other bars in the area and about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Robinson’s, department store and supermarket. Will probably make this hotel my preference for when I’m visiting Manila in the future. Food was very good, reasonably priced and of course being an Aussie owned establishment the beer was nice and cold.(Most Important).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Southern Cross, the staff are friendly and helpful, they have an excellent airport pick up service and the food is very good. Although this is a budget hotel the hotel services and access to local services and activities are excellent; robinsons shopping mall is nearby as are many bars and restaurants including many with live music. The staff ensure that you get a metered taxi and there is coach service to a number of locations (from front door).
I have stayed in many hotels in Manila including 5 star hotels and i can honestly say that staying in the Southern Cross has consistently been one of the most enjoyable experiences of my visits to Manila.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window as some rooms have no natural light. For me this is not an issue as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is a good budget Hotel which is central to many things you may wish to do in Manila. Close to major tourist attractions such as Intramurous and Rizal Park! Many amenities are also very close by such as laundry, Money Changers and plenty of ATMs! Friendly staff and the oversight by the owner/Manager Terry makes sure things run smoothly and without ant troubles! It has a safe deposit box in the room which works well and adds to the security of your possessions!
Rooms are acceptable and are made up each and every day even if you rise late after partying in the many bars close by!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy! Some rooms have no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good
Hotel in general- very friendly staff, safe and secure, restaurant and bar, good meals, cold beer, travel agency attached, elevator.
Good Value Rooms include- wifi, fridge, cable tv, ensuite, safe deposit box, aircon.
(best rooms are the back corner rooms)
Good Location- money changer and laundry opposite, restaurants nearby, Robinsons 10 minute walk, jeepneys at the door.

Bad
Bar area is always dark, stale smoke odours, shower curtains mouldy.

Generally- if you can get over the older gent and the young lady scenarios (don't be too judgemental as it is a two way street) then you will find this a good place to stay.
I have stayed here many times with my Australian wife and we both agree it is very good value and can be a lot of fun interacting with the staff and meeting all types of interesting people.

Room Tip: All the corner rooms are good, and the back corner rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

first stayed at southern x in 2005 and have stayed there at least 20 times since... great area close to bars and bus at the door to angeles and subic...terry great host..try red garter bar around corner or gold coast bar ...la cafe down the road gpoint..catch the bus to sabang from outside swagman hotel around the corner..the receptionist hazelsky is my ex girlfriend she is malibog

Room Tip: make sure you book room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

good service and friendly staff.. be back next time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Hotel

Address: 1125 Del Pilar St. Ermita | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 11155, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.