We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIDEWALK OF HOSTEL 1632” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel 1632

Hostel 1632
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel 1632 to your Saves list
Hostel 1632
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Adriatico, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SIDEWALK OF HOSTEL 1632”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

http://sajidpena.blogspot.com/2011/11/give-us-back-our-sidewalk.html

Please read the article. Thanks

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    36
    10
    15
See reviews for
7
18
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

well frankly speaking i am one of those back pack travellers and obviously will settle for a hotel which is safe . This is my fourth visit to Manila,a city I just love for its vibrant moods , great food, entertainment, shopping and above all the friendly attitude of the people. The Hostel is located in downtown Manila and is near to some of the fine dine restaurants be it Japanese , Korean , Chinese , Indonesian and of course many of the KARAOKE BARS . The rooms are neat and decent, the staff and management very friendly that explains why I come and stay here more often than ever.I have built a good rapport with the staff and management who by now know me by my first name and even address me as( Hi. William how are you ?) The room service is just perfect cant get anything better for a budget price Hotel . Will be coming back again in early Nov for a longer time now . Ramil ,Dionie , Jenny ,Michael hope you are reading this .

Room Tip: all the rooms are more or less identical and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Good walking distance from a lot of activities of Manila. Rooms are small (the bathroom, as well).

So why stay here? If you're working on a budget, or staying for a short period of time or always out, this may be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertslund, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days. First we went to Friendlys Hostel, which was terrible in every sense (Dirty, smelly and spooky guests). So we quickly moved to Hostel 1632. Here, everything was clearly much better. Cleaner, more professional, more stylish, everything was nice. The price was good as well. 1500 pesos for a twin room I think. It actually resembles more a hotel than a hostel, so I can only recommend it. The location is both good and bad. It is located in the red light district, so expect the prostitutes standing in front of the bars to try and lure you inside. Very pretty but hookers nonetheless. Also expect alot of poor people to approach you on the street to beg for money, but that is normal in Manila. The Hostel is located 2 minutes from Robinsons Mall, one of the biggest in Manila, where you can find tons of good quality stores and cheap items/clothes. I bought a cheap Ipod Touch there. One downside of 1632 is that Wi-fi is not free, but still cheap anyway. All in all a very good place to stay. Recommended, and my first choice, should I return to Manila.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The location of this hotel is quite good; in the middle of Malate district; about 10 min walk to Pedro Gil LRT station. Some malls, restaurants, karaokes, bars in the vicinity. The bars district is very easy to miss but it is very near. The room was clean enough but a bit depressing (maybe coz they gave us the room at the end of the corridor with a window with no view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

A very small, very thin room. Clean as can be, but tiny. Bathroom with shower in room. Color TV. Friendly staff. Small cafe in lobby. In an area of Manila with upscale hotels, but harrassing vendors all around on the streets. 2 blocks from Robinson's mall, but take a taxi for safety. Very reasonably priced, about $25U.S...free newspaper in the morning on your doorknob. We dropped into town with no reservations; most places were full, but the Hostel had a room for us. Hammering all night long at adjacent building.

Room Tip: Try to get the largest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed there last year (2010) in May and June, three weeks in total with my wife and two young children. It was good and so were the staff. We asked for a discount because we stayed by the week. I think it cost about $1,500 peso a night. Yes the rooms are long and skinny, but it was quiet and cool.

Compared to other hotels I stayed in it was excellent. You can't compare Australian hotels to Philippines. They don't quite get it right over there yet.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the non smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel 1632? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 1632

Address: 1632 Adriatico, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel 1632 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel 1632 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 1632 Manila
Hostel 1632 Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel 1632, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.