We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are looking for...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's Guest House

Save Saved
You added Friendly's Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Friendly's Guest House
1750 Adriatico St. Corner Nakpil St., Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Manila B&B and Inns
Prineville, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I don't know quite what to say about this place. It is not particularly clean, organized or convenient, but it has the best atmosphere to chill and connect with other travelers in all of Manila. A really wonderful community meeting place with books, plenty of tables, basic drink service, internet, wi-fi and entertainment center on the top floor. The rooms are very basic, but quiet enough, but extremely barren and, to be honest, the first week I stayed there the dorm room smelled a bit like urine, but the other times I was there it didn't. Lots of night owls stay in this place...
I am going to give this place 4 stars, because I think it important that backpackers who are a bit more relaxed can have a place to go that is low on pretensions, and high on adventurous spirit and fun. I'd stay here again...but I probably wouldn't bring my parents here. haha.
Also, just be sure to secure your belongings here, especially in dorm rooms. Lots of people in and out of rooms and many keep odd hours...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    18
    17
    22
See reviews for
2
25
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hostel is a good price to stay for one or two nights. The area is very close to the train and a short taxi ride to bus terminals. There is a nearby mall, robinson's that has a supermarket, cinemna, to meet all your needs. The service at the hostel was great, very helpful staff. The cleanliness is ok, not the fault of staff, but likely a lot of guests and not enough bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at Friendly’s repeatedly when transiting through Manila. The location is convenient and fairly central, but very noisy all through the night unless you have a windowless room in the centre of the building. My reservation inquiry by e-mail was quickly answered. The roof terrace is nice although the view itself is not pretty. WiFi is available for free – when it works.

These are all the positive or neutral points I can think of. Rooms are tiny, ultra-basic cardboard cubicles and are seriously overpriced. Not even a second bedsheet (as a blanket) is provided. The elevator to the guesthouse on the 3rd and 4th floor is frequently out of order. For a fee, the guesthouse will store luggage for you, but good luck ever finding it again. Bags are literally thrown and stuffed randomly into a variety of messy, dark, overflowing storage rooms and cabinets. It took me half an hour to find mine. Once I forgot an item in my room when I checked out. I notified the guest house within an hour of my departure and returned a few days later. The management insisted it had found nothing and when I inquired further claimed that the staff members most likely to know about the matter where unavailable. When a few hours later a made a fresh attempt to investigate the situation, staff who had previously advised me in perfect Queen’s diction of the need to pay rooms in advance could suddenly not understand English any more…

In summary, Friendly’s gives you plenty of objective disadvantages and subjective annoyances. Most of the latter seem to be related to a pervasively lethargic, disorganized, helpless and uncaring attitude of the staff. I believe that even from people running a backpackers’ hostel clients can expect a minimum of professionalism.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Manila is desperately short of quality budget accomodation.
This place is a mixed bag, the dorm rooms are cheap but the one i slept was very very smelly, i believe the culprit to be dirty traveler shoes.
the bathrooms were just about clean enough.
however the service IS friendly and the winner is the roof terrace with a great vibe cheap beer, free rum and occasionally a free BBQ.
its also a great location, right in the middle of the 'action'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We did not like this place at all! It was dirty, the staff were so not interested in us and we will not be staying again!

The chill out area is good though. Actually its the best bit about the place. Location is okay but for Manila that's not saying much. Not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked in advance and were too naive not to check the room before we paid (payments need to be made in advance on arrival). The first tiny private room (695 pesos) smelled of urine, which appeared to fly into our room from the even worse smelling communal bathroom nextdoors. An attempt to change rooms was not satisfying either: we were shown another tiny room, this time with a window and private shower (1200 pesos) and a smell as if 10 wet dogs had just spent a week in there.

We left to go somewhere else. Outside we were picked up by a taxidriver who said "I guess you are switching hotels? This one is not good." We could not agree more...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's an old place but cheap and reasonably well kept. Cheap rooms are very small and two of the rooms we stayed in on two occasions had a bad smell. We put up with it as in other terms the hostel is OK. The common room/ Tv area upstairs is great and that draws the crowds in there. The staff are nice and helpful and the place feels safe. A really nice plus was fresh roasted coffee beans that you could grind yourself and make fresh proper coffee. Occasionally they also serve free drinks etc to guests upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendly's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly's Guest House

Also Known As:
Friendly`s Guest House Hotel Manila
Friendly`s Guest House Hotel
Address: 1750 Adriatico St. Corner Nakpil St., Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Friendly's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.