We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Church. Bad area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastian Church

San Sebastian Church
Plaza del Carmen, C.M. Recto | Quiapo, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Quiapo)
+63 2 734 8908
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 81 attractions in Manila
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Church. Bad area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The church is lovely but be warned - we got mugged in the street outside with plenty of people looking on. We are lucky as he got away with nothing after a struggle and exchange of punches. No one came to help and we had to jump into a taxi to escape. It was at night and we were dressed quite smart. So be careful. Don't wear expensive jewellery, hang on very tight to your bag and only carry what you would be prepared to lose. Sorry to be negative but that's the reality of Manila. Best bet is to have a car and driver take you and wait for you wherever you go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“An impressive Gothic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This cathedral was made completely of steel and was a worldwide marvel when it was completed 121 years ago. We can see today, and impressive array of ornamental and decorative motifs - Gothic style with two high, tapering and graceful steeples, an artistic pulpit, carved figures and beautiful chandeliers inside.

This was decided to have it constructed of imported steel in pre-fabricated pieces that would make it earthquake resistant that was inaugurated in 1891.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coron, Palawan Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So blessed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I feel good everytime I attended the holy mass here. I am devoted to Our Lady of Mount Carmel. I love Jesus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A World Engineering Marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

San Sebastian Minor Basilica is one of Manila’s hiding gems, and it’s funny how I only went inside this cultural site this year.

The only all-steel basilica in the Asia – although, in my opinion, its record might extend to the rest on a global scale as I cannot see any other ‘all-steel’ basilicas elsewhere – also happens to be the second structure in the world made completely of steel, just after Eiffel Tower.

Presently a contender of yet another UNESCO World Heritage Site designation, San Sebastian is also the only church following the neo-Gothic tradition in the Philippines; it was modeled after the Burgos Cathedral in Spain. Moreover, it is also known to being the only pre-fabricated church in the world. Currently a National Historical Landmark, A National Shrine, A National Cultural Treasure, and once listed as one of the 100 Most Endangered Monuments in the world, the outstanding universal value of San Sebastian is very evident, and a trip to Manila without seeing this engineering marvel is never really complete.

Try knocking on some of its parts. They really give the "ting" sound! Its fun doing it. Also, if you pay closer attention to some of the columns, you can actually see rusts forming (although this is a bad news).

From Quiapo, walk along Hidalgo Street, right across the highway. The sight is hard to miss.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The All Steel Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

San Sebastian is one of the oldest church in the Philipines & the only ALL STEEL church in Asia, & it was kept & well preserved up to this time that makes it one of the best places on our tourist list.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Sebastian Church also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to San Sebastian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastian Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Sebastian Church to your Saves list