We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive Gothic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastian Church

San Sebastian Church
Plaza del Carmen, C.M. Recto | Quiapo, Manila, Luzon, Philippines (Quiapo)
+63 2 734 8908
Update attraction details
Ranked #8 of 80 attractions in Manila
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“An impressive Gothic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This cathedral was made completely of steel and was a worldwide marvel when it was completed 121 years ago. We can see today, and impressive array of ornamental and decorative motifs - Gothic style with two high, tapering and graceful steeples, an artistic pulpit, carved figures and beautiful chandeliers inside.

This was decided to have it constructed of imported steel in pre-fabricated pieces that would make it earthquake resistant that was inaugurated in 1891.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coron, Palawan Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So blessed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I feel good everytime I attended the holy mass here. I am devoted to Our Lady of Mount Carmel. I love Jesus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A World Engineering Marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

San Sebastian Minor Basilica is one of Manila’s hiding gems, and it’s funny how I only went inside this cultural site this year.

The only all-steel basilica in the Asia – although, in my opinion, its record might extend to the rest on a global scale as I cannot see any other ‘all-steel’ basilicas elsewhere – also happens to be the second structure in the world made completely of steel, just after Eiffel Tower.

Presently a contender of yet another UNESCO World Heritage Site designation, San Sebastian is also the only church following the neo-Gothic tradition in the Philippines; it was modeled after the Burgos Cathedral in Spain. Moreover, it is also known to being the only pre-fabricated church in the world. Currently a National Historical Landmark, A National Shrine, A National Cultural Treasure, and once listed as one of the 100 Most Endangered Monuments in the world, the outstanding universal value of San Sebastian is very evident, and a trip to Manila without seeing this engineering marvel is never really complete.

Try knocking on some of its parts. They really give the "ting" sound! Its fun doing it. Also, if you pay closer attention to some of the columns, you can actually see rusts forming (although this is a bad news).

From Quiapo, walk along Hidalgo Street, right across the highway. The sight is hard to miss.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The All Steel Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

San Sebastian is one of the oldest church in the Philipines & the only ALL STEEL church in Asia, & it was kept & well preserved up to this time that makes it one of the best places on our tourist list.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you like Catholic church architecture, this should be on your list when visiting Manila.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Sebastian Church also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to San Sebastian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastian Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added San Sebastian Church to your Saves list