We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rich history of the Chinese in the Philippines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahay Tsinoy

Bahay Tsinoy
Kaisa Heritage Center | Anda Cor. Cabido Sts, Intramuros, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 81 attractions in Manila
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Quezon City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“rich history of the Chinese in the Philippines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A great place to appreciate how much the Chinese have influenced Philippines history and culture through its wax museum, artifacts, paintings, and the likes. Visited the museum twice already. The first one gave me preview on how many Filipinos / Chinese were killed during the Japanese occupation in the Philippines. The 2nd one showcased art work showing the Chinese serving the military in early war times. Definitely an eye-opening place.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marikina City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of my favorite museums!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Those with Chinese blood would love to come here and learn more about their history in a foreign land--the Philippines. Plus their visuals are very detailed and convincing. It's like a wax museum but with the complete set-up (like surroundings, houses back then, etc)

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Educational Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

A must specially for the teens ( and the young once too). Very educational.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This has got to be one of the hidden gems of Intramuros and one of the best-made museums in the Philippines. I didn't expect it to be that good and informative. It reminded me of "Images of Singapore" at Sentosa.

The only thing which took me aback was the exhibition at the very top about the kaisa organisation.

Overall, pretty cool!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tsinoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Bahay Tsinoy is a place Filipinos must visit to be inspired as entrepreneurs. I am a Tsinoy (Chinese-Filipino) and I came to visit this museum last month - and I really enjoyed it!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahay Tsinoy also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Bahay Tsinoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahay Tsinoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bahay Tsinoy to your Saves list