We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 'off the beaten' path” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University of Santo Tomas

University of Santo Tomas
Espana St | Sampaloc, Manila, Luzon 1008, Philippines
(632)406-1611
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 77 Attractions in Manila
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest university in Asia, founded in 1611, and is one of the world’s largest Roman Catholic universities based on enrollment.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not 'off the beaten' path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

With thousands of students and faculty crawling in and out of this old institution this place hardly falls under the category of "off the beaten path". However, it's probably not one of the places you'll find in regular tours of the city. It's a university. It's old. Older than most structures around manila these days. I once found it charming to be hiking up the old stairs of the main building but after a month or two and countless moments of beating the clock I found that same set of stairs really undesirable. Officials claim the main building to be "earthquake proof", a theory that has yet to be tested with a 7.0 on a Richter scale. There's a lot of trees and greenery distributed sparingly around the whole area which provided a recluse from the smog-ridden city. The church in here was also old and had certain character that came with age; however, it is often overshadowed by the main building in terms of appeal. All the other buildings in the area are usually off limits to the public but it's not really that much interesting either unless you came here for the hospital and research center.

Overall, this place is worth a short trip but make no mistake in coming here on a cloudy day during monsoon season as you might end up visiting an underwater attraction which is more than you bargained for.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    14
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna,Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A school of good education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Although I was not able to enroll in this school but I heard so much good reputation with regard to education. It is one of the best schools when it comes to medicines,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of Manila's Hidden Treasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited to catch a forum. After so many years, the old buildings haven't lost their charm. I briefly took some photos but the rain just poured and, cautious not to get stranded in the flood, I left in the hope of dropping by during summer.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old but Lovely! :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is one of the world's largest catholic universities and also the Largest university in manila! :) Big grounds, well kept surrounding. Very clean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Imbued with Unending Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have studied here and is in love with it's architecture. My favorites are the Main Building, Beato Angelico Building (Archi-CFAD) and the Santissimo Rosario Church (esp the interiors). The Museum inside the Main Building, Quadricentennial Park, Arch of the Centuries and the Botanical Gardens are worth visiting. I love the "ancient feel" of the whole place and though I'm all for the improvement of the University (by erecting new buildings), I hope they maintain the amazing Spanish-era architecture. There's also the Publishing House, the souvenir shop inside the Museum, and stalls inside the AMV Carpark that sells UST jackets, key chains, etc. There are lots of food chains within and outside UST so you will definitely not starve (the ice cream stuffed inside buns that are being sold inside the University is a must-try!)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Santo Tomas also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to University of Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.