We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imbued with Unending Grace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of Santo Tomas

University of Santo Tomas
Espana St | Sampaloc, Manila, Luzon 1008, Philippines
(632)406-1611
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 114 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest university in Asia, founded in 1611, and is one of the world’s largest Roman Catholic universities based on enrollment.
Makati City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Imbued with Unending Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have studied here and is in love with it's architecture. My favorites are the Main Building, Beato Angelico Building (Archi-CFAD) and the Santissimo Rosario Church (esp the interiors). The Museum inside the Main Building, Quadricentennial Park, Arch of the Centuries and the Botanical Gardens are worth visiting. I love the "ancient feel" of the whole place and though I'm all for the improvement of the University (by erecting new buildings), I hope they maintain the amazing Spanish-era architecture. There's also the Publishing House, the souvenir shop inside the Museum, and stalls inside the AMV Carpark that sells UST jackets, key chains, etc. There are lots of food chains within and outside UST so you will definitely not starve (the ice cream stuffed inside buns that are being sold inside the University is a must-try!)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    17
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“pontifical and royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The grand architecture of the buildings is simply amazing. it houses the oldest museum in the country and is the oldest university in Asia. I'm a proud alumni, I must say :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oldest in the region , older than Harvard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'm biased , i was raised by the Dominicans. The School pet name is USTE pronounced as U-S-T-eee Visit the fountain area near the chapel ,it is not to be missed Whar cool with this is UST is both historic and cool

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The oldest university in Asia Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The church and the main building is the main attraction. The main building feels so old. Just don't go here during rainy season, it's flooded!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Oldest pontifical university in the Philippines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am an alumni of UST. The University just celebrated its 400th year anniversary. The main building houses one of the oldest museums in the country. The campus is huge and is worth visiting to see the old buildings and sculptures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Santo Tomas also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to University of Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.