We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place packed with history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Improve this listing
Visit Intramuros like an insider
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #2 of 114 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Valencia, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A place packed with history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Intramuros has been part of my life for 6 years, I studied here, my school is inside the premises of Intramuros. There's plenty of choice inside but be careful with strangers especially the kids, they are sometimes up to no good at all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    549
    233
    43
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Interesting historical secetion of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The area is an interesting look at what colonial Philippines was like. The area unfortunately is pretty badly run down and is in major need of maintenance. There are a lot of street beggars and cheats. Be very careful about hiring a pedicab here! My suggestion is to pay the small fee (75 pesos per person) for Fort Santiago and pay for a horse carriage guided tour of Intramuros and Fort Santiago. The horse carriage tour comes with a city licensed guide. It will cost you 500 pesos per person, minimum of 4 people. ( I don't know why they just don't say it cost 2000 pesos for the first 4.) There are some really nice buildings, like the San Agustin Church, and the old wall.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Great Area To Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I walked around this area while touring Manila. Fort Santiago is also located in the Intramuros.I highly recommend a walk and spending maybe a half day here

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, Cailf
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

we wanted to see the older part of Manila ,this was a look back to the Spanish , and the walled

city .I enjoyed to walk on the wall looking out on the city , and the old buildings . Several trike

drivers were very trying to get our business , but I wanted to walk and take my time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting old walled city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you have only one thing to see in Manila, it should be Intramuros, the beautiful old walled city with it's stunning Spanish architecture. You can just wander around the cobble-stone streets without a map and you will stumble on all the old buildings and churches. If it's too hot to walk, there are tricycles at the plenty who will approach you and offer to drive you around the entire old city. It's so picturesque there. I would definitely go back. Make sure to stop by the cathedral and read it's history which is written on a plaque outside. Its story is really incredible.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.