We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Area To Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Improve this listing
Visit Intramuros like an insider
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #2 of 115 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Great Area To Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I walked around this area while touring Manila. Fort Santiago is also located in the Intramuros.I highly recommend a walk and spending maybe a half day here

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    550
    235
    43
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san jose, Cailf
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

we wanted to see the older part of Manila ,this was a look back to the Spanish , and the walled

city .I enjoyed to walk on the wall looking out on the city , and the old buildings . Several trike

drivers were very trying to get our business , but I wanted to walk and take my time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting old walled city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you have only one thing to see in Manila, it should be Intramuros, the beautiful old walled city with it's stunning Spanish architecture. You can just wander around the cobble-stone streets without a map and you will stumble on all the old buildings and churches. If it's too hot to walk, there are tricycles at the plenty who will approach you and offer to drive you around the entire old city. It's so picturesque there. I would definitely go back. Make sure to stop by the cathedral and read it's history which is written on a plaque outside. Its story is really incredible.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong SAR
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The best to see if you just stay for 1 day in Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Before I went to Boracay,I took a flight and stop over at Manila for 1 day.Even many comments said that you could skip Manila and go straight to Boracay.But I think it's still worth to stay for 1 day to look around the city.

After check-in to my hotel at Makati,I took a taxi to go straight to Intramuros.A tour guide passed over and asked me if I would like to take a ride and look around the city and he will explain me the history of the attractions.

I paid Ph600 for around 1.5hrs ride to see the attractions in Intramuros.The guide showed me around the places and told me the history.As I'm travel alone and don't know the way to go,I think it may be a good option and listen to the local about the places.

As Manila was conquered by Spanish a long time ago,the buildings still preserve the Spanish features.The buildings in Manila are quite colourful,orange,red,green,yellow...

The guide shower me the place where his family living and his neighbours.It's interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Walled City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a walled city with big walled covered the area. Inside there are buildings with spanish architecture. Its better to walk the area & see those buildings & try to understand the spanish influence in Manila city. There is a big church which is also a unesco world heritage site. Unfortunately I was not allowed to enter in that church because of some weeding programs going on there. Overall it is a good experience

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.