We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of tricycle crook!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #4 of 69 Attractions in Manila
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware of tricycle crook!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I visited this place on last Friday 14th February. As I arrived at the front yard of San Augustin Church by cab, a tricycle cyclist in his late fifties offered to take me around the 17 attractions in the vicinity of Intramuros for just 200 peso. It is definitely a good way to tour the area as it would take quite a while on foot if you are short on time. I said yes and took up his service in good intention of letting the old man earn some income. At the end of the two hour tour, the cyclist tweaked his offer and said that it was 200 peso PER HALF AN HOUR. He pinpointed me the fine print at the bottom of his brochure which has the phrase ' per half an hour' trailing the 200 peso. Obviously he revealed none of that at the start of the tour. I was so frustrated, flabbergasted, and disgusted at such a dishonest act. As I was travelling alone and there were a bunch of tricycle cyclist around the area, I did not want to get into a dispute with him even though I was boiling, for my own safety purpose.
Along the way in my journey in Philippine, I have encountered despicable crook one after another in various form and tactic to prey on the tourist money. They easily overcharge tourist from 5-10 times more than what a local would pay. I know that I should not stereotype but it leave me a real bad impression of the Philippine. And I am sorry to say that it is such a shame for a country of staunch Catholic believer, they commit such unscrupulous and sinful act to all the visitors without having any sense of righteousness.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    444
    194
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Interesting look at Old Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Intramuros is the old and historic walled in city of Manila. Built by the Spanish it was the original capital of The Philippines and is now on the Historic Register. To get to Intramuros, take the train, LRT that goes up Taft Avenue to Ayala Boulevard stop walk Finance Avenue and turn right thru the park to Luna Street entrance. There are other ways in and out of the park, but if you enter this way, you can walk forward and it will lead you right to San Augustin Cathedral and Museum, one of the main attractions in Intramuros. Gen. Luna Street is a major street thru the walled city. Around San Augustin ( see my review under San Augustin), is a coffee shop, restaurant and shopping area. If you walk further along Gen. Luna, you will reach the Cathedral of Manila, another main attraction and beautiful site. (see my review). Other than these two, a walk around viewing the old and sometimes dilapidated, but beautiful old Spanish architecture is an interesting look into the historic past of Manila. There is transportation offered, but unless you really need this, walking is the best way to see Intramuros.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You will like it if you like history.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It is a nice place full of history. Built by the Spanish while the stories include Filipinos, Chinese, Spanish and American. Fortunate as not destroyed during the battles with the Japanese during World War II.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Manila's Spanish era”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a good place to learn about the Spanish colonial period of the Phlippines' history and it's struggle for freedom led by Jose Rizal.

In order to do so we decided to take a ride in a beautiful horse drawn carriage -- we were told it is a replica of Spanish carriages used here in past times. We also hired an excellent guide who gave us a much appreciated history lesson.

These were good decisions, ( an good value ) as it made getting through traffic so much more pleasant and our guide certainly enlightened us as we went along, pointing out important buildings with insights into Philippine history and society.

A visit to Manila would be incomplete without a visit to Intramuros.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Historically Very Rich site !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Intramuros,the walled city created by the Spanish,with a circumference of around 4kms, is rich in history,with its fortified walls and surroundings of the river and moat.It was here that the revolutionary Rizal was held and tried before being executed.The Fort was so good that it was even used in WW2 !
A Place rich in its history !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.