We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time machine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #4 of 69 Attractions in Manila
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Time machine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After visiting Fort Santiago take a walk around intramuros. There are old spanish buildings built during the Spanish colony in the Philippines.

There are also carrages, souvenir shops and resraurants with spanish settings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    441
    194
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Probably the only historical site in Manila worth visiting. The Manila Cathedral was lovely. Go on the horse carriage but negotiate a good deal, about Peso 250 should be fair

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well... I was starting this review giving it 4 stars, and I probably should have stuck to that. It all depends on what you are looking for. I took my first Jeepney to go there (that is something you must do in Manila), walked around solo for a couple hours, bought some water, thought about life, wished I could play golf in the club that has its fairways interspersed with the walls... So for me I would probably give it 4.

Due to the lack of grand attractions in Manila (it is a city that you have to take or leave - take it as it is, don't ask yourself what if? - or else you will spoil the fun), it is something you have to do. Be advised that if you are shocked by smells, sounds, pollution, you are in for some detox later. Specially if you walk into it from the avenue where the museum is, you will walk through a very busy, dirty, slummy area until you reach the walls and the platitude they offer.

Could everything be better taken care of? Could the gardens and flower beds around the streets that lead to it be nicely planted? Could the sidewalks have space for you, and better drainage, to spare you stepping into sewer? All of these answers are YES. But to check on the ruins and historic sites, get in touch with people actually living in a neighborhood that has 500 year old fortresses and building is probably worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must see in Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Manila doesn’t generally sit high on a tourist’s Bucket List but Intramuros is a must see if you are in this big, bustling metropolis. With children in our group, we opted not to do a three-hour tour that was recommended. However, after such a good first exploration, next time we are in Manila we will definitely go back and get a good guide.
In essence we only saw two buildings – San Augustin Church and museum, and Casa Manila residence – as well as the view from our car of the cobbled streets and magnificent walls. The church had back-to-back weddings in progress on the Saturday we were there, so we could only look into the church from the main doors, a side entrance and the loft. It is very impressive and beautiful. The museum has room after room of remarkable artefacts. There are some restrictions on taking photos but we found that if we asked the security guards if we could take a certain photo without using flash, they were quite obliging. The “floats” for religious processions, paintings, tombs, gardens and architecture make this a rich experience.
Across the street is Casa Manila, a reconstructed house full of authentic furniture from the glory days of the Spanish era. From memory it was a P50 entrance fee for adults, a bargain for such a rich insight into life from a bygone era. Don’t miss the communal toilets; can’t see those making a comeback any time soon!
On a return visit we would include Manila Cathedral, Fort Santiago, a walk along the walls, Rizal Park, and roam the streets and plazas for a while. And here's hoping that the authorities in the Philippines can find the funds to continue to restore this magnificent part of Manila.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“ok to kill a couple of hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

for a european, the remnants of a fortified city are nothing too spectalur (too much deja-vu?) but it's ok to spend a couple of hours walking around

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.