We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what is left of the pearl of the orient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus...
Ranked #4 of 69 Attractions in Manila
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is what is left of the pearl of the orient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had been through Manila a year earlier and none of the locals I was with thought of going to Intramuros. This time I had one day to myself and came across it on Tripadvisor. It was a great way to spend a day. I love history and this has centuries of it, from the Spanish upto the WWII. Also take a ride in one of the carriages and see the area with a guide. I had an old man and his young grandson show me around. You can see them out front of the Cathedral.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    439
    193
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reading between the 'buildings'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The buildings are now a shell of what they used to be prior to WWII. I found the area very interesting, as we had a guide & told us stories.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
487 helpful votes 487 helpful votes
“A treat for history and WW2 buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently had another opportunity to amble along the pathways of Intramuros - the walled city. A difference this time was that we took Carlos Celdran's walking tour on the first day (very interesting, lots of nuggets of trivia thrown in - and many enlightening historical facts - more in the Walking tour TA review)

The most beautiful part of Intramuros starts at San Augustin church (it has a nice museum on the corner, sit for the mass on a sunday - you will enjoy it, and there is always a wedding in progress). There is a beautiful restaurant "Ristorante delle Mitre" just opposite to the San Augustin church - a great place to just sit, sup and watch the world go by.

Some of the streets like Anda, Cabildo and General Luna and nice to walk - but really - these streets should be made "traffic-less" if you want to be able to enjoy the buildings. Some nice museums to spend time in are - Casa Manila (can also eat there - but remember to book in advance), but sadly, the parts on the western par are filled with dilapidated buildings strugglign to cope with the crowds ho live there, and the electric wires criss-crossing. looks more like a corner of Tondo!

Also, do note - it gets sunny all day so take a good wide brimmed hat, lots of water, and sun glasses if yo plan touring this area. The Most buildings do not have any markers, so I would suggest a guided tour (white knight has an excellent electric chariot tour that we tried and I was impressed) on day 1 - and then walk teh same places yourself later , at your own easy pace.

All in all, if you missed this area, Carlos' walkign tour and white knights chariot tour, you would be mising a big part of Manila.

Oh - I forgot - do take a calesa ride... (it costs 350 pesos for 30 minutes. worth it) - as cliched as it sounds, it is fun! And do remember to wave out to all the people en route.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Only Thing Worth Seeing In Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I found Manila very unpleasant, but I enjoyed the afternoon we spent here. It was quiet and evocative of an earlier time. Take a taxi here, walk around the walls and parks, then get out of Manila to one of the many more pleasant destinations in The Philippines.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, La Union, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bring back it's glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

if you want to attract more tourists, this place should be maintained and bring back it's own glory 30 years ago.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Intramuros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.