We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
New Hotel Miramar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1034-1036 Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here on my last night in Philippines. It was the most comfortable and welcoming hotel during my 3 week stay in the country. Beautifuly decorated comfortable rooms friendly welconing staff lovely food and great atmosphere in bar/restaurant

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
6
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taif, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had business at the US Embassy. The walk from the hotel to the Embassy entrance was no more than 10 minutes. It trumped another nearby hotel in price winning my decision. The ambience is art deco and classic. The bed is on the stiff side. Bathroom was adequate. AC was great. Room service was overpriced for the quality of food. Lastly, we were on the top floor in the back corner of the hotel. There was loud music til nearly 2 or 3 am.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Let's face it, Manila is a dive at the best of times. So if your going to hang out in one of the worst S.E Asia cities then do it with some style. As far as I know the New Hotel Miramar is the only real classic Art Deco hotel in the area that survived WW II. Aesthetically it has the style that is desperately refreshing in a city of such little interest. Comfort wise it's all good. Everything worked. It was very clean and of course the staff were very helpful and polite (we are in the Philippines of course, what more could be expected!). The price was around 50 Australian dollars, much more than I would normally pay but for a couple of nights do yourself a favour and treat yourself to some stunning decor and architecture. With it's easy access to nightlife, the old Spanish quarter and about 20 mins to the airport you may not need to suffer through the rest of Manila at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Miramar hotel from January 1-4 2014. It was our first stop in the Philippines. The hotel is located on a very busy road (Roxas blvd) and the side streets appear sketchy but we felt safe. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was spacious and clean. The A/C worked well. It was a little loud but it turned out to be a good way to cover the outside noise. The room had a fridge and a kettle which were very useful. The bathroom was adequate. The hotel is within walking distance to Intramuros and a 10 minute walk to the MRT. There are also many banks near the hotel. On the negative side, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and some staff members less than willing to be helpful. Overall, considering the price of other hotels in the area, Miramar is a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the front street can be very busy and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

On 15 Dec. 2013, I personally applied/booked for a 2 days stay (24 - 26 Dec. 2013) at Miramar Hotel for my families Christmas holiday enjoyment at Luneta Park. Apparently, on 21 Dec., my mother died and therefore, went again to the hotel on 23 Dec (8:30AM) for the cancellation of my booking. I was told by the Receptionist that I cannot refund anymore, the Php 3,100.00 deposit that I had made but can only opt to re-book at any date till Feb. 2014.

I am therefore, rebooking it on 16 to 18 Jan. 2014.

I have not received any email on my previous booking hence, would appreciate your kind response on the confirmation of my new booking for 16 to 18 Jan. 2014 at bert_abarilla@yahoo.com. Alternatively,my CP # is 0920-2115078.

Thank you and am looking forward to an enjoyable stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: I have yet to see it.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here last August 15, 2013 and October 22, 2013.
I definitely enjoyed my stay here because the room was really good, very clean, stylish and comfortable. The room is indeed worth the money. It's very close to the Embassy of the United States and to those who will have their interview I suggest for you to stay here. The stuff are all friendly and they treat their customers right with full of respect. On the right side of the Hotel is the chowking restaurant and on the left is a Yellow cab restaurant after that there is a 7/11 store.

The room only lacks flat iron which is very important for those people who are very particular with their clothes, they don't let you borrow their flat iron you have to avail their service.
Aside from that everything went smooth on my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed in New Miramar Hotel for three nights begin November 2013 during the terrible Typhoon Yolanda. Although we had no problems at all it's still painful to realise the horrible situation of others close by.
It's a rather cheap hotel (paid 35€ per night) but is very good value for money. Breakfast is included but don't waiste your time. Except for the tea the breakfast was of poor quality. Better step out of the Hotel to the left and on the other side of the street you will find a Starbucks! The Hotel is 30 mins by taxi from international airport (rush hour) and within 10 min there is a good mall. Makati Mall is 45 min in rush hour. Both mall are perfect for a good meal (@ European standard) Makati mall is better for a night out and good atmosphere, despite the 'paid pleasure girls' and the so called 'real lovers' (mid aged to old Europeans/Australians (men), with nerdy appearance accompanied by girls who pretend to be happy...) :(
The Hotel is an old classy art deco hotel with nice paintings. The rooms are spacious and aircon/television is working properly. Wifi is not so good, but free if you don't use to much. The bathroom was ok, not the most modern but spacious. The matrasses (bed) were hard and rather oncomfortabele. The personnel is very kind and very service minded.
So if you want a best value for money hotel with a central location in Manila I would suggest Miramar

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Miramar

Address: 1034-1036 Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Hotel Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.