We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Miramar

Save Saved
You added New Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hotel Miramar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1034-1036 Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 103 hotels in Manila
Baguio, Philippines
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I checked in quite early from my early morning flight and was exhausted. I checked in at 6am and asked if there was a room available (booked through agoda.com at PhP2070+) and they accommodated me (thankfully). The receptionist trainee was inexperienced and still needs practice on what to say, what to do and how to do it fast but i guess it was ok since there was a manager guiding him. I used my credit card to pay for the deposit fee of 2000 but they said it was declined (used it the next day in another shop and it was working fine). I paid cash for the deposit.

The bell boy was very helpful. Turned on the A/C, removed the comforter on the bed and then checked that everything is in order. You have to check the bar list and sign on another receipt that the fridge had the right contents. At check out, he hailed me a cab too. The staff had smiles most of the time.

It is a budget hotel and the room was ok. In the bathroom, there were (I think) soap stains on the soap and cup holders. There was no complimentary drinking water. No safe too but you can ask front desk to keep your valuables.

I liked the location since it was close to the US Embassy where my business was. There is a Chowking restaurant and a 7-11 convenience store next door. A Starbucks is across the street and Robinson's mall was within walking distance (left to UN Avenue then right in Orosa).

You have to climb a few steps to get to the elevator. Request for a quiet room if preferred. I stayed in a room near a street but it wasn't an issue for me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
6
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is quite old but is cheaper than the other hotels near the area, the bathroom is okay but you can see that it is quite old as the fixture and the toilet bowl says it all. There is only 1 elevator and when we got there it does not work but it is not a big deal since we are only on the 2nd floor.

The room is small but cozy, it is good for a night stay. The breakfast is not buffet but western kind of breakfast, it is also delicious.

What is good with this hotel is the location, it is near to the Manila Bay, near 7-11, Starbucks and some other restaurants. It is also a 5-10 minute drive going to a mall named Robinsons Place Manila..

It is accessible to public transportation such as taxi and jeepneys.

The hotel is fine for its price. They also allowed us to check-in by 6 am without any reservations.

I will stay here again if I need to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The photo depictions of the hotel through their website is quite deceptive. I booked my 3 nights at the beginning of my stay in Manila and another 3 nights on my last nights in Manila through Agoda.com. I stayed for the first three nights but opted to stay at another hotel on my last three nights, choosing to forfeit what I suspected was a non-refundable last three nights. I found the hotel very old. The carpets are too worn out and the walls of the room that I was given needed a fresh paint. Attempts to open the curtains were very unsuccessful. The room is too small and cramp and there was fetid smell that came from the bathroom. The bed was too hard and it would have been more comfortable to sleep on a concrete floor than its lumpy hard mattress.

The staff were semi-attentive and the restaurant food is below average. I will have to be paid a handsome amount to stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Stayed at this budget hotel for a while. It is on Roxas boulevard (which does not mean anythign cos roxas blvd is a really long road!). Teh area is good - good walkign spaces, esp. durign evening. along the United nations avaenue. The US embassy is very closeby.

Breakfast was ok. The hotel has an old wordly charm, heritage feel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Expensive Hotel, hard to find, very noisy and outdated. The Mattress was worn out 10 years ago. The location is central but not really a nice hotel. Actually the restaurant food is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is just an ordinary hotel in most respects. The rooms are large but not huge; they are clean and well-maintained but not stellar. The reason Miramar shines so brightly is the professional management. Any time you interact with staff at this hotel you know that they have been very well-trained. They are polite, friendly, efficient, and professional. Everything is done with clockwork precision around here and you never doubt that your room will be cleaned nicely, or that your questions will be answered, or that the internet, hot water, or air-conditioning will function as intended. Every business in the Philippines should be managed this well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Nothing explains why this hotel is twice as expensive compared to other nearby Ermita hotels like Cherry Blossom or City State Tower. Location is actually very bad, behind the hotels is squatter area where horrible noise comes every night, I don't want imagine whats happening there.

Check in was not very smooth, very slow deposit process. Check-out also very slow.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Miramar

Address: 1034-1036 Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Hotel Miramar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your New Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.