We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has lost the Plot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swagman RPL Hotel Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swagman RPL Hotel Manila to your Saves list
Swagman RPL Hotel Manila
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 A Flores St | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This hotel has lost the Plot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

In the 1990's this hotel was good to stay at, not anymore. My wife stay there a few weeks ago she said she would never stay there again, in the 1990's this hotel was run by Philippine/Australian
The Australian side sold out, it is now Philippine/Chinese owned, this hotel has gone down hill, less maintenance.

Rust inside the bar fridges, rust and dirt on your room window sills, if you have a light globe out, they do not change it, they give you another room, where the toilet will not flush, they move you to anotther room, the shower does not work, it goes on and on, not to mention, the noise in the room above you, their laying tiles in that room the banging goes on for hours, they have an Manila Airport Pickup Service, were they there to pick you up, no, you have to ring them, of course there phone number is not the same listed on their web site, you have to race around the Manila Airport trying to find some one that knows the Swagman Manila Telephone Number.

Room Tip: No Rooms in this hotel are any good
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    29
    32
    35
See reviews for
14
37
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panglao Island, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed here in the past and this time was much improved over previous visits. The Free pickup from the airport is a true advantage when arriving. The personal attention at the airport is really welcoming. I booked a deluxe room but was upgraded to an executive room upon arrival due to renovation of some rooms. The room was quite spacious but the air con had no adjustment and continually ran on high. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and the towels were really nice. Food in the restaurant was quick and very tasty. Beer is always cold and ready upon arrival. I will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

i have stayed there only 1 time but have used the fly the bus to angeles before serious i have no complaints the room is enough for a short stay the staff are very friendly the breakfast is very good had no trouble with the air port pick up i have allready booked a room for march more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The only positive about this place is the airport pickup service. We only were staying there because we were travelling on the bus and ferry to Puerto Galera the next morning. The room was run down and the bathroom plumbing malfunctioning.

Room Tip: Stay at the Bayciew or some other hotel nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We usually book this hotel as they pick up at airport (haha) we ended up paying P800 for an airport taxi as we were tired after 16 hours travel, the food was expensive an horrible, I've been staying at Swagman every couple of years for the last 20 years and its really gone to the dogs

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It amazes me why other hotels in Manila do not provide a "free" airport pickup service as Swagman hotel does.

I have contacted other hotels about this service & yes, they will pick you up but at a minimum cost of 700 pesos which is at least twice the going rate for a taxi. If a van is required then it will cost in the vicinity of 1500 pesos to hotels in Metro Manila.

Getting from NIAI airport into town can be bad with taxi drivers wanting to rip off everyone by whatever means.

I am certain if other hotels had a "free" service of this kind, their guest numbers would increase significantly. Even if hotels clubbed together, having one suitable vehicle serving 3 or 4 hotels.

I am sure the "free" Swagman transport is built into its hotel prices quite subtly and that isn't an issue. The big issue is getting safely & efficiently from the airport to the hotel.

Other hotels need to learn from this rather than having an attitude of "Let's get them for everything we can." Swagman Hotel runs a 2 hour shuttle service to & from all airports every 2 hours. It is one thing they do well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The only reason anybody would stay at this mediocre pub is because of the Swagman Travel service who only take cash. This makes it difficult if the ATM machines don't work! The hotel has a "screw you" attitude. So I missed my connection and regretted staying in this dump of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swagman RPL Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swagman RPL Hotel Manila

Address: 411 A Flores St | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swagman RPL Hotel Manila 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Swagman RPL Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swagman Rpl Manila
Manila Swagman Rpl Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagman RPL Hotel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.