We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New World Manila Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New World Manila Bay Hotel to your Saves list
New World Manila Bay Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1588 Pedro Gil corner MH del Pilar | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Online Exclusive 40% off
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Urban oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel is well located near the bay. Renovated rooms are very comfortable. I had access to the lounge floor which was a really nice addition to the stay and comes with a great view. The hors d'oeuvres were excellent and you can get fruit, small snacks, soft drinks and wine at most times. There's a great pool that is suitable for laps and a casino (obviously) on the premises. The breakfast is a fine buffet spread. There's also a dinner buffet that gets rather crowded so come early for the quietest times. Manila is very spread out and traffic is slow but if you've got business in this part of town, this is an excellent choice for a base of operations.

Room Tip: If you can get access to the lounge floor, do it. It is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    202
    77
    29
    18
See reviews for
72
90
86
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent location and quality. Fabulous breakfast buffet included. Hyatt and Pan Pacific Manila breakfast buffet are on a par. Location equal to Pan Pacific, but price about 10% higher for the same level. Service staff at Pan Pacific much better and more attentive. would not use this hotel again as long as Pan Pacific has availability.

Room Tip: Views not as good as Pan Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My first time in Manila, indeed the Phillipines, so went with a friends recommendation for this hotel. Truly "western" but with a local twist, the staff polite and accomodating, the rooms fine. Mine overlooked the great pool, where there is the main pool, a kiddied play pool, and a big jaccuzzi. A poolside bar serves food and drink, to keep out the heat !

Other outlets inside the hotel include a Chinese restaurant, very good, a steak house, trying that for lunch in a few minutes, and a lounge bar serving very good wine.

Only downside, and it's not the hotel's fault is that the second you step out of the secure areas you are accosted by street vendors, prostitutes and the like, but that I guess is Manila, and as I say, it wouldn;t matter which hotel you stayed in, it would happen.
The regency lounge on the 10th floor offers free drinks all day, breakfast in the morning, and evening snacks6-8pm, (very good quality)and free flow alcoholic drinkt 6 till 10 in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWAII
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Staff was highly attentive, room service was great..had the warm arugula salad with bacon, it was great..very expensive but I felt it was a safe hotel for me because in this country you have to worry about serious crime. Rooms were nice..but once again, bathrooms are a thing for me...beautiful bathroom but the marble shower area and tub needed better cleaning. Overall, I would definitely stay here again even though it was pricey. I loved the buffet at their restaurant..ate there everyday for a week..DOWNSIDE: I didn't like seeing the really old geezers-grandpas-walking into the Hyatt arm in arm with the obvious (looked like teenagers) prostitutes here...it was gross and sad to see what one will do for money. I would NEVER bring young children here, I don't want them seeing all the child-like prostitutes and the children begging in the gutter...so depressing when luxury abounds in the same area. The staff being pleasing...I know they wanted tips though...Didn't do the casino, it's not my thing to gamble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Everything was as I'd expect of a Hyatt anywhere, good service and well-equipped room. We only stayed overnight, but no complaints. The concierge was very helpful about arranging a driver from the airport, and promptly responded when our flights changed last minute. After 26 hours of travel I was glad we had opted for a private air-conditioned ride rather than dealing with the chaos of the taxi and jeepney scene. There was good security at the property too and the location seemed to be in a decent area. The mattress was rock hard, but that seems to be the norm in SE Asia.

Room Tip: The streets were a little noisy even late at night, so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms were nice but not great. The Club Lounge was very nice and the view was beautiful at sunset. The staff was very attentive. The breakfast buffet had a wide selection and very good. The neighborhood is not the nicest but did not seem unsafe.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the poolside...much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hyatt was a great place to stay. The room and service were what you would expect from a hotel in this price range. I have no complaints about the hotel and staff. I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New World Manila Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Manila Bay Hotel

Address: 1588 Pedro Gil corner MH del Pilar | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Manila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#5 Spa Hotel in Manila
#7 Family Hotel in Manila
#9 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New World Manila Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Manila Bay Hotel is a deluxe 5 star business hotel situated at the heart of Manila and in close proximity to the convention centers, shopping malls and historical attractions. Welcoming and spacious, the 376 guestrooms and suites are all designed with high ceilings and large windows to fully showcase the breath taking views of the Manila Bay sunset. Featuring four presidential suites where luxury and decadence meet, our full-time dedicated butlers attend to every smallest detail round the clock. Stay connected with WiFi in our guest rooms and restaurants or while enjoying a leisurely afternoon by our poolside featuring a 25-m outdoor lap pool, children's pool and Jacuzzi , all providing a tranquil escape from the bustle of Manila. Home to the award-winning restaurants in the city, enjoy perfectly prepared steaks at The Fireplace, authentic Cantonese delicacies at Li Li or visit Market Cafe for a truly international dining experience showcased through its live and interactive kitchens. Unwind at The Lounge over a refreshing cocktail or indulge at the Pastry Boutique offering a sinful selection of chocolates, pastries and cakes.Offering several leisure and entertainment facilities, pamper yourself with our signature treatments by visiting The Spa at Club Oasis or try your luck at the Casino-Filipino complete with two levels of executive floors studded with gaming and entertainment offerings. Choose from numerous event venues, tastefully appointed and fitted with technologically advanced equipment, making them an ideal setting for corporate meetings, weddings or any social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your New World Manila Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Manila
Hyatt Hotel Philippines
Hyatt Manila
Manila Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New World Manila Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.