We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy & clean rooms + great location = can't complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Mansion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riviera Mansion Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Mansion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Manila
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“comfy & clean rooms + great location = can't complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my friends during the final leg of our trip around South East Asia. This little gem along Malate exceeded our preconceptions. For the price we paid, I wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised with the service. Rooms were clean and decent. Location is very convenient. It is only a stone's throw away from Robinsons Mall and the famous Manila Bay. Bars, restaurants, spas, and casinos also gives the area a nice vibrant atmosphere at night. Overall, a delightful place for travellers on a shoe string budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    37
    15
    7
See reviews for
21
39
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Riviera Mansion is a good hotel in manila. Location is convenient 3 minutes walk from Robinson Place. The service here was great and also the room here was great. All the staff here are very friendly especially the room attendant staff. The room here are newly renovated, very clean room and i love the bathtub here. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

First of all it was my mistake to book in Malate. If you are here for business or solo or just friends it would do but to stay in Malate was just a turnoff for us because of the feel of a red light district. As for the hotel, we had to upgrade from a superior room to a queens suite yet it was very small & the main problem with all the rooms is that they have very small windows. even the fixed menu breakfast was not worth it. The staff wasn't friendly or helpful in terms of suggesting attractions or other things.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for replying to my messages and am glad that you had clarified your concerns about our hotel. As per your message, your main concern came from the misunderstanding of upgrading to a "Queen's Suite" that you find too small to be called as such. I sincerely regret the misunderstanding but the room is actually a Suite with a Queen-sized bed, not a "Queen's Suite". I am certain that if your expectations were not unnecessarily raised by the misunderstanding that you would find your room a good value. At 45 square meters (450 square feet) with a rate of P3560 ($85) including breakfast for 2, a living room, 2 LCD TVs and floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedroom, it is well-priced in the area. We are a value-priced hotel situated in the center of Malate, close to all the action with the casino across the street and the mall being just a short walk away. Most of our rooms (Premier and VIP) are recently renovated. Our rooms range from 28 to 45 square meters with rates starting at P2125 for the Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Assured of newly renovated room with kitchenette in on-line reservation. Upon check-in was given a dilapidated room with a defective lock room that won't close properly. Called front desk to complain and promised some one will come up soon to facilitate a change of room. Waited nearly 30 minutes with nobody showing up. Had to bring my own luggage down to reception, and staffs were just chatting with one another and the room boys just standing by. Given a lame excuse that the other staff made a mixed-up in reservation.
The one bedroom suite has no aircon in the living room, imagine the heat in the Manila weather. Seems like you're in an oven. Opening the bedroom door to let cold air from bedroom aircon into the living room doesn't help. TV only in bedroom. Kitchen facility extremely old with portable electric stove with exposed wiring. No microwave, no hot water flask. Functional full size ref. Enough utensils and cookeries. No internet, no safe.
Bedroom aircon is a window unit which cannot adequately cool even the bedroom and very very noisy. Lumpy pillow with pillow cases that are twice the size of the pillow. Paper thin blanket.
Bath had good water pressure, but toiletries provided only shampoo and mini soap disc.
Waken to the sound of roaring electricity generator when there was a power outage. Imagine yourself to be in the engine room of a bunker-fueled ship.
Overall very poor facilities, staffs indifferent. Saving grace might be the coffee shop with reasonably priced tasty foods.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
Please accept my apologies for my staff's shortcomings. Rest assured that I have dealt with it and you will meet more attentive staff when you check in with us again. It was also unfortunate that there was a power outage during your stay and that you had to hear the generator kicking in. Our generator is always on standby to ensure that our guests do not get inconvenienced by sudden power outages.

The room that you had checked into is called a Superior Room. This type of room has always been popular because of its price, size and layout. At 40 sqm with a separate living area and a kitchenette that is separate from the bedroom, it is perfect for guests who are expecting visitors. This room has been designed to be a budget-friendly room. At P2550 or $60, it is very well-priced for its size, function and location in Malate. If you find the aircon inadequate, you may choose our VIP Suites. These Suites are 65 sqm., 1 aircon in bedroom, another aircon in the living area and 2 bathrooms. These are also very recently renovated.

I am happy to announce that most of our rooms now have in-room safes (all rooms by Oct 2012). We are also experimenting with free wifi at the cafe restaurant. It is now free to surf the web while enjoying our famous Mango Mojitos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked online with cheaper rate & stayed for 4 days & 3 nights (29 jun - 02 Jul 2012). Good location near the Robinsons Mall.

There's no room available for us as the one we booked, so they upgraded us to a twin superior room for the first day. The rooms was fine but there was no complimentary drinks (bottled water/coffee/tea) in the rooms, no jug kettle (only thermos), if you want hot water you have to called housekeeping and they will bring it to you. And no iron too.

The staffs was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiuan Eastern Samar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a day today we just charck out this morning 28th of june...they found out there was a missing towel, excuse me you're towel is already a RUG! We had 2 rooms 637 & 639...we have to check out 1st room 369 cause our flight was earlier than my sisters...anyway they check our room they were looking for a wool blanket & pillow...excuse me all your linens are all dark colour now, your pillows are tne same and how about the towel OMG what a disgrace, I don't think even your own chambermaid will even be interested to take home, cause even themselves they could afford to buy a good looking towel rather than your RUG alike towel! I thought really it was really solve, when my sisters check out the UNFRIENDLY staff had t charge the missing towel 350.00 you're joking? That RUG look alike towel is worth 350.00? I agree with u guest of
february 2012...its sad nagtitiyaga na nga kami jan every time we have holiday sa mga. Naninilaw na linen at towel tapos pag may missing isisi sayo..very regretful, frustrating talaga...I would suggest to. Change all your linens & especially towel so your guest will be even liable if there are missing one...but for your towel at the the moment even 5.00pesos I wont bother to pay..kaya foreigner guest watch out this is not highly recomended, or u can ask them 1st when booking if y there towel are new or even white colour cause Ibelieve me its not the right colour u expect in a hotel. Well, a lesson must learn! That's it! this my 3rd visit in 2 weeks stay
David J. Long with wife Cristy Long
Date check in 23rd june 2012
Date check out 28th june 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts is highly appreciated.
 
Riviera Mansion is committed in providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travel. In the pursuance of these goals, we, at Riviera Mansion, are following a strict compliance in providing clean and safe dwellings for our dear guests. Taking into account, we regularly change our linens into new ones and always check the quality of the materials before we hand it over for our guests to use.
 
With regards to your other concern of being charged for one missing towel, I’ve personally looked into it and found out that there were more than 3 persons that stayed in each room as opposed to your folio showing only 3 registered guests per room. It is the hotel’s procedure to check the rooms for any damages or losses to the property before you leave. As a matter of fact some of the linens of one of the rooms were found at the other room. This may point to the towel being misplaced without the knowledge of the registered guests. We don’t lay blame on anyone but treat this situation as a case of negligence.
 
Thank you for taking the time in bringing this matter to our attention. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you’ve experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked twin beds but we got double bed and the bed so small. Room attached with kitchen and it smells terrible, what a luck it does not smell to the sleeping room, otherwise I would not sleep.

Local is really good, nearby very many shops, restaurants and night life ;-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Mansion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.