We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent downmarket hotel in the centre of Ermita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Suites

Save Saved
You added City Garden Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1158 A. Mabini Street | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Ermita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 103 hotels in Manila
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“A decent downmarket hotel in the centre of Ermita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located on A Mabini Street in the heart of old Ermita, this is a decent hotel that is a very good value for the budget conscious traveler. Desk staff is friendly and efficient. The neighborhood is a bit edgy late at night so if you are not familiar with this Manila neighborhood then be careful in the wee hours outside. It looks nicer inside than what you would expect given the location and price. I have stayed there many times over the years and it never has any bad surprises.

Room Tip: This is a busy neighborhood at all hours, particularly A Mabini St (front of hotel) so for a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    119
    66
    23
    21
See reviews for
16
54
78
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I arrived late in the evening around 9pm.

The room (one bedroom suite 3100php pr. night) did not have hot water in the evening. After they fixed it there was no cold water so toilet didn't flush. Next morning there were no hot water in the shower only in the sink.
I had to change room because of broken noisy aircon. Go with cheapest rooms and then the value might be okay but any upgrade is defiantly not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I like the friendly staff. The room was clean and nice. The bed was comfortable. I like the samll stationery in the drawer. The cabinet it has the the safe box, the iron, table for Iron, the bath robe, the slippers ( they have tow kind of them the free ones and other for purchase). The bathroom was good. In the morning you will find out door the daily news paper of the Philippines. the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is good. I like also at the outside it's near to the Cowboy Grill if you like to spend some time there and I highly recommended to spend the time there. Overall It was a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 days during last trip.
Have frequent this hotel earlier 3 times. Conevient for shopping and access to airport with minimum traffic jam compared to Makati and elsewhere.

Limited choice in menu & breafast for foreigners.

Friendly helpful front office & lounge bar staff but not the restaurant staff.

I would rank 5 if improvement are make to educate & train the restaurant and house keeping staff
to service the guest well.

Generally I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Do not request for front rooms as they are noise from street hinder your sleep. Choose mid or rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel location is very convenient if you want to travel around Manila. There is a shopping center, Robinson's Ermita, which is a walking distance from the hotel. The free breakfast is average and there's nothing special. The staff are very courteous and approachable. The wireless connection and 3G network inside the room is very poor. The room is very clean is spacious.

One suggestion for the hotel reception is to have a list of phone numbers of taxi operators for booking. You don't expect every guest to wait at the lobby while the security guard look for a free cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Would not bring the wife to stay here and when they say at check in about payments for other guests it is obvious what they mean!! But it is Manila. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to help and make your stay a pleasant one. Did four nights here and the food was good, breakfast a little plain for Europeans but you could get an omelette made and breakfast meals available rather then the help yourself buffet. You can easily get around here and taxi's do not really cost alot. Everything is within easy reach here and it seemed ok to walk around but only did this during the day and did stay to the main routes! Pollution is the main thing from the beltching Jeepneys. No views from most of the rooms but not much of a view anyway with it being on the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wonder why this hotel was ranked below top 10 when in fact I rank it as my umber 3 hotel in Manila. Of course, Hyatt Hotel and Manila Hotel being my top, but as a 4-star hotel. City Garden made a value for my stay. They have at par standards with good hotels and even staff are very energetic. I have talked to their lobby assistant and enjoyed staying there because of the ambiance. I really had a good time considering that this is near a famous mall and the US Embassy. I rank this hotel as one of my finest hotels I have checked in through Manila.

Room Tip: Choose the bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Suites

Address: 1158 A. Mabini Street | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Garden Suites Manila is a Standard Class Hotel and an ISO 9001:2008 Certified in all aspects of its operations. One of the 3 properties under the City Garden brand, has emerged to be first-in-mind for hotels in the Philippines' capital city. The hotel offers top class accommodation with business character and elegant furnishings that provide guests value for their money. A great choice for business and leisure travelers who are seeking comfort, affordable rates and cozy ambiance that is so relaxing and refreshing. Every guestroom offers modern and up to date facilities and five star quality amenities bringing new dimensions in luxury and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your City Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Manila
City Garden Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.