We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crossroads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila to your Saves list
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 A. Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crossroads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The Executive Plaza Hotel in Mabini Street, Manila epitomizes the transformation going thru the Philippines right now.
The hotel is not very big in terms of size and number of rooms but it is very big in quality of service.
I arrived at the hotel early @8am on 9July 2014 from the
airport. I was greeted with a beautiful smile from the staff at the reception counter who proceeded to check me in seamlessly. Though the earliest time I could get in my room was 10am, her positive and bright demeanor made me relax and put me in a good mood - don't forget Brazil had lost 7-1 to Germany in the World Cup match just a few hours ago!
So I stepped out for breakfast and into Mabini Street which has ample eateries and fast food restaurants. Situated opposite the Hyatt Hotel, Executive Plaza is easily accessible - I had taken a taxi from the airport and told the driver Hyatt Hotel as the landmark and within minutes we arrived - at that early hour there was no traffic jam and it was a pleasant ride. Apart from some small talk with the driver I had a good view of Manila Bay along
Roxas Boulevard minus the jam.
I checked into my room at 10am and found it to my liking. It was clean and the air-conditioning was working well. Toilet was spacious and clean. There was also a flat screen tv with clear reception. By the way the wifi in the room worked flawlessly every time. Nowsadays wifi is so crucial what with all the gadgets we carry on us!
My room was on the 6th floor. The hall way and corridors had adequate lighting and not glaringly bright.
I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay very much. The daily housekeeping was spot on as well.
The hotel is indeed value for money if you are not too fussy and probably staying in Manila for a few nights before heading off to some island paradise like Boracay. It is close enough to the airport. The taxi ride from hotel to airport costs below 200peso and from airport to hotel about 350peso (depending on traffic).
The location of Executive Plaza Hotel being smack right in Mabini Street, the old part of Manila has quite a number of homeless and children asking for money. You can evade them quite easily by not making eye contact. Just keep walking and they will leave you alone. And even when you do give some money - you can be sure you will be rewarded right away with a brilliant smile and a cheerful thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear ernestoe,

First of all, the entire team of The Executive Plaza Hotel would say thank you for such a wonderful review you have shared. This will great help those traveler who's looking for a great place to stay at their convenience. By the kind words imparted to us about the reception, the housekeeping, the room, and our proximity to airport and business districts, we are hoping that you will again see us to give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Again, thank you for your time writing a review about your stay with us. Looking forward to see you soon!


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    230
    173
    40
    7
See reviews for
9
33
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel location is accessible to malls and bars.The room was clean and tidy.The staffs are accommodating and friendly especially receptionists and housekeeping staff...worth going back to this hotel for my next business trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear lauro d,

It is nice reading such a good comment from one of our valued guest like you. Your comment will definitely help our traveler looking for a good place to stay.

Rest assured that we will always be providing the best and excellent service we could do. On behalf of The Executive Plaza Hotel, thank you so much and and we do appreciate you considering us again in your next visit to Manila.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is a bit pricey for a backpacker, but decently priced for someone who may not care much on how much to pay for accommodation. The place has a good wifi, always what i look for in a hotel. Each room is wifi ready so no need to stay overtime in the lobby just to go online. Elevators are operated with your room keys, a good additional security feature. We stayed at the suites. It was a good room with a mini bar. Overall, the place is good :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear JJGuerrero,

We would like to thank you for your appreciation with regards to our room, Wi-Fi and the security measures that has been made for our guests convenience.

Rest assured that we will continue to serve everyone at our very best because 'we care'. Thank you for your time sharing your experience with us and we look forward for another opportunity to welcome you back.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Last time was not that happy, but now they internet in all rooms, breakfast has improved so it is a good hotel.

Would not recommend this for familes as there are many single man who are with the local pick up girls (not my thing, but they accept this), but very secure

Close to all the bars, shopping centers

Have a safe stay and keep smiling

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear TitoRon,

Sharing your comments and review are very much appreciated.

We are overwhelmed by informing us how we improve compared before when you had your stay with us. This is an additional inspiration to keep us on our track in providing service at our best. As far as security is concerned, rest assured that we give priority to everyone's safety at all times.

Thank you so much and we are hoping for the next opportunity to be of service to you.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from May 17-19. The hotel was hard to find, as its cheek-to-jowl with other small motels and pubs in Malate. We had to circle around the area a few times before we could locate it. Parking was atrocious as there is no parking spot infront of the hotel, and the only option to park is at the second level of the hotel, and there were only about 3 parking slots available (obviously staff parking only). The driveway to the parking was also very narrow and steep, and was quite a challenge with our Fortuner van. The hotel is best for commuters. The Robinson's Malate mall is just a couple of blocks away, and the hotel has service vans that one can rent for sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable though..sheets were crisp and clean, towels were plenty. There's ample storage in the room, and they offer everything the bigger hotel chains have. The bathroom was clean and water pressure and temperature was great. TV channels were so-so. The staff were kind and courteous and quick with their service. I wasnt able to sample the food as the breakfast buffet looked unappealing, but there are lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Maiah13,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and feedback during your stay with us.

Though you had difficulty in finding our hotel and for parking your vehicle, we are happy to know that you appreciate our offered services and amenities, the vicinity which is accessible to a shopping mall and food establishments and of course, our service-oriented staff who are always willing to assist every guests.

We are hoping the you will see us again!


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very welcoming although they expect you to pay a 1000 pesos cash deposit which is refundable on check out minus any fees (this wasn't mentioned on the website used to book the room). They offer a good exchange rate for most major currency's but do not always have a lot of pesos early in the morning if you want to exchange some currency. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable with a good sized TV and plenty of channels in both English and Filipino languages. The food was of a good standard although a little pricey compared to the food outlets in the area. Taxi's are easy to get but you need to make sure the driver goes by the meter (190-210 pesos to the airport; otherwise expect to pay 400-700 pesos). Jeepneys go past the hotel and offer excellent value for money. Overall I would stay there again as Robinson's Mall is about a 5 minute walk away and the Mall of Asia is a train and Jeepney ride away; both are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Phy510-Man,

Thank you for such a good review which is very helpful on our part as we move forward and for the future travelers looking for accommodation.

With regards to the deposit required upon check-in that is refundable upon check-out if not consumed, we apologize if this was not indicated in the website where you book due to possible system limitation reason why details are not comprehensive as desired. Even so, all your comments were taken seriously and will work on it for all possible actions that to everyone's convenience.

Despite some concerns, we are glad to know that you will be staying here again on your next visit. Please let us know if we could be of help on your reservation in the future to come. Thank you and hope to see you soon!


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Husband and I stayed here 2 nights in the deluxe room with our 15 months old son. The room was big but it was dirty. There was dust all over seems like it was never cleaned properly for ages. Under the sink in the bathroom there was a whole pile of dust! The air condition in the room is manual. Middle of the night when it was cold, I had to wake up from my bed to reduce the temperature. Also the TV was soo small and old for a deluxe room.

There was a window in the room which was facing the street in front of the hotel. It was sooooo noisy! Even till 4am in the morning! My baby woke so many times due to the noise. Moreover, you can see guys bringing over call girls to the hotel. Not the kind of situation I like looking at.

The room did not have electric kettle when we got in and we asked for it since I needed to boil water for my baby's milk. I waited for 45 minutes for the kettle to be delivered. There is also no coffee or tea offered in the room for free.

My biggest surprise was the hotel restaurant does not even have baby high chair! I was rather shocked to hear that. This was the first hotel I have been to that does not have a baby high chair. If you are traveling with kids, then avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms facing the road in front of the hotel. It is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Subathra S,

We would like to apologize any difficulty and inconvenience that you have experience during your stay with us. We have received no advised from your end that there were pile of dust in an area for us to see and check. Also, for some items in the room are made available upon request but e are sorry if it takes time to reach you. Since we are in the busy area of Manila, the street are usually alive with nightlife most of the time. We are saddened that we are not able to assigned you to a room not facing the street due to rooms are subject to availability upon arrival.

All of your comments were taken seriously and have started doing the necessary action. We do hope that you will consider us again in one of your visit in Manila. Thank you so much.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang-Marantan
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila

Address: 1630 A. Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Executive Plaza Hotel in Manila, Philippines is conveniently located at the heart of the city’s tourist belt area. Almost everything one might need during his/her hotel stay is either within a short walk or a short driving distance from the hotel. The Executive Plaza itself is a mere 30-minute drive from Manila’s domestic & international airports.Right across the hotel are the ROBINSONS’S PLACE MALL – {complete with cinemas, shops, restaurants, entertainment} and a 7/11 Convenience Store. Just accross from the hotel, one could walk to the CASINO FILIPINO, Zamboanga Restaurant – {with a nightly cultural show}, bars & music lounges, banks, schools & more. Places of interest for any Manila visitor are very accessible from the hotel (30 mins. away)- the Mall of Asia, SMX Convention Center, the Arena Entertainment Coliseum, the Rizal Park, Manila Ocean Park, Intramuros and the Muni Day & Night Golf Course, the US Embassy and the seaport area – just to name a few.Business and Leisure travelers who are on the lookout for the best value suggestions will find the Executive Plaza Hotel an ideal place to stay while conducting business as well as a perfect choice for people on the go.As a full-service boutique hotel, the Executive Plaza Hotel offers complete hotel amenities and services. less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Plaza Manila
Manila Executive Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.