We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila to your Saves list
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 A. Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Malate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Manila
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Philippine Airline organised us to stay for 1 night 23/10/2013 due to extended flight delay. The room is reasonable size but very old fashion (furniture, carpet, chair etc.) but WiFi signal in the room is good. The girl at the reception was extremely helpful and helped us to call (at least 4 times) and talk to Philippine Airline staff to re-book our onward flight. The hotel is within 3 minutes walk to a big shopping mall where you can spend most of your time shopping and eating. A BIG thank to the reception girl that help us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Dave_inSYD,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel.

We are very grateful that our service is appreciated. Your inspiring comments is an encouragement for us and would be helpful to other traveler who would like to visit Manila.

We do hope that you would stay with us in your next visit to the Philippines. And we are more than willing to assist you and to welcome you back here at The Execuitve Plaza Hotel in Manila.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    231
    175
    41
    7
See reviews for
10
33
70
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Executive Plaza twice at the start & end of a Philippines trip. For the price the hotel is very good, clean, free wifi & good location. The beds were a little hard though. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear camztar14,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at The Executive Plaza Hotel.

We, our team, are glad that you were able to enjoy your accommodation, and for giving us a high rating on this review.
We can’t wait for you to visit us again. We are looking forward for next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Executive plaza hotel was a good stay. The size of the room was good and it was very clean. The ac worked very well as well the wifi. Service was professional but nothing exceptional.

The location is a bit crazy, it's in an old poor part of manila which can be interesting for a single adventurous traveler, but it's not really a go out and walk around place.

The only negative point was that it had no safe in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NadosM,

The good rating you have given us is very helpful for our team to keep on striving to serve our guests with our very best. We are thankful for sharing this to the rest of our Tripadvisor member.

Nevertheless, your comments were taken seriously for improvement. We hope that you will still consider our hotel a place for you to stay on your next visit. It will be a pleasure to us in welcoming you back here at The Executive Plaza Hotel in Manila, Philippines.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days. I booked this hotel because the rate was $39.50 a night whereas the other hotels I considered (Hyatt, Pan Pacific and Diamond) were in the range of $160 to $200 a night and although they were in the top ten in Manila, had a number of negative reviews. I decided they were not worth the extra $600 as compared to Executive Plaza. I was very happy with this decision. Yes, the hotel is a bit run down and there is no real screening security but, the room was clean, the bed clean and comfortable, the window AC unit cooled the room down nicely and there were a decent number of stations on the flat screen TV. Room was very quiet (the walls separating the rooms are concrete or cinderblock) The 7-11 right next door is handy. As others have noted, there are only two bath towels and no decent toiletries but for $39 a night, who cares! Every employee I encountered was responsive, polite and accomodating. Robinson's Mall with many eating options is about a five minute walk.

Yes it is in a very iffy neighborhood but so were the other three hotels I considered. As soon as you walk out the hotel you are accosted by old women,young women and children begging, "Rolex" salesmen, Viagra peddlers (Lord knows what the pills consist of but I would be shocked if it is anything resembling Viagra) and hookers. You handle them by ignoring them and keep walking. Eventually they will give up and stop following you. I would suggest you wear no neck chains (too easy to get pulled off) no fancy jewelry (I wore my $20 Casio jogging watch) keep nothing in your back pockets and be aware of your surroundings. I walked the gauntlet to Robinsons and back several times without any real problem. The hotel does keep all the neighborhood pests out of the hotel.

Please note my four stars are based primarily on cost. Without factoring cost, I would give the hotel 3 stars. Finally, the wi fi was spotty-sometimes not working in the entire hotel, sometimes I couldn't access it and sometimes quite slow. If wi fi access in your room is imperative, don't stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear BigdawgChicago,

Thank you for choosing The Executive Plaza Hotel.

Sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel is a pleasure for us. This will be another challenge to take action for those areas where improvement is necessary.

We are sorry about the Wifi connection problem. At the same time, we are very grateful that despite this, you still opt to give a good rating to us. Rest assured that we are currently resolving this issue and we will continue providing the best rate to serve you better and our future guests.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

At prices from 1900p up u get a great deal in buzzy manila,very central located,just across the great casino.Room clean and nice,big space,big beed....no complains about the room.
Vell the check in may take some time,as there is 1-3 staff working there and a huge traffic of people comming and going at all possible times,its a huge hotel.
Outside the hotel the enviroment change alot,this is a street full of KTV bars girs ,girls and girls.and so come all the vendors beggers and lunatics to get their bit of the share.Pretty anoying if your not used to philiipines.So my adivice is..jump into a moving cab,stop it first,make a price.
dont ever use the guys who comes running to give you nice rides in their speical luxuary cars,its only like second hand cars in western countrys and 4 times the price of local taxi,.I dont know how people fall for this??
Breakfast...ekspensive and not a big buffet,local and some toast and eggs overpriced....go another place if hungry.
Anyway nice hotel,bad outside......good for sleeping if u go high........10floor up....friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear eric m,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay here in the Executive Plaza Hotel.

It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. We always make sure that our staffs provide good service to accommodate our guests. We thank you for your cooperation during the check-in process which took some time due to the huge volume of guest.
With regards to our breakfast, we are glad to inform you that we are now offering a buffet breakfast to serve you better in your next visit and to our future guests as well.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back here at our hotel.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyk
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is located in malate.

Pros:
The checkin was smooth with porter service for luggage.
The rooms were big and the bath rooms as well.
The hotel lobby is huge with bar and restaurant and pool table.
The location is good, close to a mall.
7/11 next door.

Cons:
The rooms and bath rooms are a bit outdated.
No safe in the room
The wifi is free only for 30 mins in the room and free all time only in the lobby, which the staff would enter the password on your device only and not give you the password (strange),
breakfast was not included in the offer.
might be difficult to locate even if its on main road.

Overall a decent place,but there are good options next door, do check out other options for similar price value which are a bit new or modern

Room Tip: try other options close by for similar price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear nyk1981,

Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review.

We are very puzzled by the inconvenience that you have experienced with the Wifi connection in our hotel room. We are fully aware that nowadays the internet connection is essential for business travelers like you that is why the management decided to offer 24/7 free Wifi in the hotel rooms effective 01 Jul 2013. Rest assured that we will conduct some tests to verify the connection.

Again, we do apologize for the problems you have encountered during your stay with us. On the other side, we would like to thank you for the positive comments despite facing problems in one area.

Hopefully, you will consider The Executive Plaza Hotel again on your next visit.


Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga Bataan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several times and I'd say I've got my money's worth. The Management (I have to mention Mr. Jeff who gave me great discounts all throughout our stays here...thank you!) are all polite, friendly, and professional.

Well, I have to mention the clean, spacious room, very elegant furnitures, good A/C, showers, nice beds, complete toiletries. The place is a very good location, near to different resto, Robinsons Mall, 24/7 convenience stores (lots of it). Thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: We're always on higher floors...and it's an excellent stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Cheryll M,

We are glad to know that you had an excellent stay here in The Executive Plaza Hotel.

We greatly appreciate it that our service is being noticed. Our staff is trained to provide the best service and is a pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests.

Also, thank you for recommending our hotel that will be helpful for our future guests. We look forward in welcoming you back again here in The Executive Plaza Hotel.

Sincerely,

Elliessa Maclang
Hotel Online Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila

Address: 1630 A. Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Executive Plaza Hotel in Manila, Philippines is conveniently located at the heart of the city’s tourist belt area. Almost everything one might need during his/her hotel stay is either within a short walk or a short driving distance from the hotel. The Executive Plaza itself is a mere 30-minute drive from Manila’s domestic & international airports.Right across the hotel are the ROBINSONS’S PLACE MALL – {complete with cinemas, shops, restaurants, entertainment} and a 7/11 Convenience Store. Just accross from the hotel, one could walk to the CASINO FILIPINO, Zamboanga Restaurant – {with a nightly cultural show}, bars & music lounges, banks, schools & more. Places of interest for any Manila visitor are very accessible from the hotel (30 mins. away)- the Mall of Asia, SMX Convention Center, the Arena Entertainment Coliseum, the Rizal Park, Manila Ocean Park, Intramuros and the Muni Day & Night Golf Course, the US Embassy and the seaport area – just to name a few.Business and Leisure travelers who are on the lookout for the best value suggestions will find the Executive Plaza Hotel an ideal place to stay while conducting business as well as a perfect choice for people on the go.As a full-service boutique hotel, the Executive Plaza Hotel offers complete hotel amenities and services. less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Plaza Manila
Manila Executive Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.