We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Deck on Bayleaf Hotel

Sky Deck on Bayleaf Hotel
Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
2 3185000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 699 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Manila is a tough city ... it's crowded and hot and tiring ... so if you want to get away from all that, go to this place!! Ask for the Bay Leaf Hotel in Intramuros and then go to the Sky Deck bar/restaurant, situated on the roof top. Fantastic 360 degree views of the whole city ... amazing pace to watch the sunset over Manila Bay.

The food is good, the ambience is pleasant. The staff are helpful and friendly and very efficient.

Very, very hard to find any fault at all. It's not cheap, but for what you get it is not at all expensive.

The buffet is P750 per head ... and there is everything you want there. I dunno ... it's the nicest place I've been for an evening in Manila EVER.

Go for it ... you'll not regret it at all.

One worry would be what happens of it rains ... but then again I didn't experience that, so everything was just perfect.

TIPS ....

Bring a camera ... if you don't you will wish you had.

And if you are taking a taxi, print out a map of the location. The Bay Leaf is not known by all taxi drivers, so a map can save you a lot of trouble explaining where you want to go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    63
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardendale, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food is decent but nothing overwhelmingly good. It is up to western standards though. The ambiance is second to none. The views are great and they even have little lounge areas by the sides to relax and enjoy refreshments and food with friends. A must see.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Mind-blowing View over Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the inexpensive dinner buffet on the roof deck of Bayleaf Hotel. Whereas the atmosphere including lighting, service and of course fabulous view was absolutely top, the buffet is rather poor, both in quality as well as in choice. However one may not expect more for the modest amount of PHP700. The Roof Deck is a perfect place to relax with friends over cocktails or a glass of wine after a day's work under the sky enjoying the skyline of this 15 million metropolis. It's open in the evenings only and reservations are recommended. It also has live music playing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food and a magnificent view of old Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took our chance and gave this restaurant a try by inviting our family and friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. We thought of trying something new other than Manila's typical, tried and tested venue. Lo and behold, the place offered a great view of old Manila (Intramuros) and we went there on a Friday which offers buffet dinner and live music performance. This place is a keeper, I'm going back to this place just to enjoy the view and have drinks or dinner at a, relatively, affordable price.

On a rainy day, you can go to 9Spoons restaurant, one floor below the Sky Deck. Come early to watch the sunset and the sky change its colour. Make reservations in advance because the place was full when we went.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Trias, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bar with a Fantastic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the rooftop bar of the Bayleaf Hotel, Intramuros, Manila, Philippines. The Sky Deck sits on the roof above the 9Spoons restaurant and has a 360 degree view of Manila. Great place to sit and relax after a busy day in Manila. Watch the sun set over Manila Bay while enjoying a cold libation from your enthusiastic bar staff. You can also order from the 9Spoons restaurant menu and enjoy your evening repast while viewing the nightlife of Manila below you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky Deck on Bayleaf Hotel also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Sky Deck on Bayleaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Deck on Bayleaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.