We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The National Hero and Filipinos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rizal Park

Rizal Park
Ermita, Manila, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
632 302 7079
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #14 of 79 attractions in Manila
Type: Parks, National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: No other place in the heart of Manila can one find serenity and diversity than in the 53-hectare Rizal Park. Hailed as the largest urban park in Asia, it boasts of world-class sculptures, historical markers, beautiful gardens, facilities for photo and art exhibits, event venues, and forms of entertainment. More than just a place to stroll around, Rizal Park is indeed a sanctuary to people from all walks of life.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The National Hero and Filipinos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

Rizal Park goes back in time. As one visits the monument if Dr. Jose Rizal, you need to chat with the locals you see there with their families, walking around and just chillin'. As you interact with the locals, they will share their knowledge of Philippine history, Filipino culture, valiance, dreams and aspirations. You will know the Filipinos and the Philippines more at The Park.

Have fun!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    131
    105
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“its a place for everybody”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 NEW

what i like more bout this place is that i can walk freely almost everywhere, just don't bring any thing that would attract bad elements, just be simple . i enjoy to see the families who turn the place into a picnic ground. though the sun shines brightly still the family bonding is just amazing. they bring blankets and big umbrellas, and some small sound system. i enjoy seeing the guards., they really sacrifice in standing there, not moving for a quite sometime. now i see its cordon, to protect the guards from mischievous people. its crowded on sundays, but thats what makes the place interesting. there are some street foods but am not into trying the cooked food, i like some fruits that they sell. there are lots of big buses too that are park nearby.these buses were filled with people from the the provinces who want to take a glimpse of the famous park.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see in Philippines..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I really love going here. Ever since I was a kid we always go here specially in summer. I totally loved the place as a whole. The historical views in the park are all breathtaking, there are foods everywhere which you can easy to buy to eat if ever you'll get hungry. And there are bench as well if you get tired. There are also like a mini bus and kalesa.
This park has some trees and shade, an ornamental lake with fountains it's impressive at night when they are illuminated by coloured lights and music. Stone busts of notable historic figures are dotted around the lake. Even now I live in Japan when I visit Philippines I always go in luneta park with my family to see the sunset. Last week when I went back to Philippine we went there & bring our own food it's our picnic time then at night we went to star city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romblon, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rizal Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

i really love going here. Ever since i already know how to get there i cna't help but to go there over and over again and i totally loved the place as a whole. The historical views in the park are all breathtaking that's makes me as a Filipino proud. :) The whole area is really great..there are foods everywhere which you can eat if ever you'll get hungry. And there are bench as well if you get tired. There are also like a mini bus and KALESA which can help you roam in the whole area without getting tired. :) We would definitely go back in here. :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's an ok place to take a rest from noisy and polluted Manila streets. Smoking is not allowed in the park. You can peek at the locals that start coming here after 5 pm. But really it's not much else to do here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rizal Park also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Rizal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rizal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.