We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Manila” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Rizal Park at Padre Burgos St., Manila, Luzon 2004, Philippines
632 527 12 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 116 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This grand exhibit house features the country's most historic works of culture and national heritage, including the paintings of heralded Philippine artist Felix Resurreccion Hidalgo.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see in Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The National Museum of the Philippines was huge and beautiful. The building itself has a very European vibe - huge rooms for different kinds of artwork, including a very important and famous painting by Juan Luna, The Spolarium which was pretty awesome and really huge!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    62
    24
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“National museum Manila Philippines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

There's two museums next to each other to visit.
Good price to see both of them.
One museum has a lot of photos and paintings
The other museum has a lot of items/artifacts from The Spanish, Trading with the chinese, The butuan boat, Filo-Muslim stuff, Guns, some old stuff from before the Spanish, etc etc.
Its a good insight into how The Philippine islands got found.
Good if you get a museum guide, I couldn't find anything on my Favorite warrior Lapu Lapu an asked a tour guide guy an he was really insightful on the history.
But if you love Old history from before the Spanish, you probably won't find much on it.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting, chronological artwork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I visited this museum a few weeks ago during my last few days in the Philippines.
The building is grand and beautiful, and the artwork is very neatly organized into rooms by period/influence so that you tour can be chronological (which I love).
I saw quite a few beautiful pieces, an exhibit of plant sketches that were commissioned in the early 1900s, and a beautiful contemporary mural.

There is no cafe in the museum.

I really enjoyed the visit which was not very long (approx an hour and a half), and as it is close by (walking distance) to Intramuros I would recommend doing both in the same day. Jeepneys run right on the main road that the museum is on to many places in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angono, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spoliarium is stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Nice to go here and learn about the art of the country. It is fully airconditioned and easy to navigate around.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not much to see here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Very sparse museum, but, pottery & jewelery display was good... There was also art on display but I did not see too much to get excited about... YMMV...

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.