We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Rizal Park at Padre Burgos St., Manila, Luzon, Philippines
632 527 12 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 80 Attractions in Manila
Type: Museums, Art Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This grand exhibit house features the country's most historic works of culture and national heritage, including the paintings of heralded Philippine artist Felix Resurreccion Hidalgo.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Awesome Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

There simply is just not enough time, or space here, for me to truly get into my day spent at the National Museum. Let me just say, that from my first exposure to Juan Luna's Spoliarium, to the National Mural of Philippine History, to the complete Sperm Whale skeleton, this was one of the most awesome outings I've had, on any visit, to any country.

It strands several buildings, and sits across from the Golf Course of the Old Fort Bonafacio, and is in a very busy portion of the city. But our taxi was able to drive to the front door, and we spent the rest of the day, wandering. There were also street vendors available, in between buildings, and we enjoyed some street food.

All in all, I'd go again, and I'm sure, enjoy it nearly as much as I did the first time I saw it, and I highly recommend it to anyone new to the Philippines, or in Manila for the first time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    36
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must see museum in Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My Indian friend and I learned alot from visiting this museum. They have everything here from philipine flora and fauna. Potteries made in philippines to philippine costumes. They also have prehistoric replicas of the houses being ised bu earlu filipinos. I enjoyed looking at the tools used ny early filipinos before spanish period.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Spolarium was the highlight.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There are interesting artworks which show a bit of history. Some gallery rooms just tend to have a bit of bad lighting. To be termed as the "national" museum, I guess I was just expecting a bit more. Highly recommended for art lovers but not for those who are into learning about history. I was very pleased to see the magnificence of the Spolarium though so that has been the redeeming factor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We're happy that we were able to visit the National Museum, its our first time to visit this vast museum... although its a bit spacious its still full of information and knowledge. We were amazed by the 'SPOLIARIUM' itself, very very big and beautiful, we saw the smaller version in his house in Ilocos. and the 'PARISIAN LIFE' by Juan Luna as well. This painting is worth million of dollars. there are also many exhibits to see and they were all amazing. I appreciate those companies who sponsored some of the exhibits. Interesting place to visit. Close to different attraction as well. And its Sunday that we went there so its free :) .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“Great artists and their works. All Filipinos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Happy to have visited the National Museum. I am a Filipino but only this time i got a chance to visit our wonderful heritage.

The work of Antonio Luna is the highlight, the Spoliarium, I did not expect the actual size is much big. Amazing art piece.

Many works of great Filipino artists are displayed there. To name a few, Amorsolo, Manansala, Villanueva, Caedo, Abueva, Tampinco and many more. I like the wooden sculpture of Tampinco, the Nino Gritando.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.