We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet Place in Manila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Museum of Art

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Roxas Blvd. | Central Bank complex, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
2-523-7855, 2-521-1517
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 81 attractions in Manila
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: In addition to the numerous touring exhibits throughout the year, two of the anchors in this museum are the priceless Gold Gallery and the ancient Pottery Gallery, with pieces dating back to 220 BC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quiet Place in Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wow i found a place with awsome art and no people in Manila , the taxi driver on the way out was a complete idiot but what can you do . This is a great place to relax and not be bothered ..I highly recommend you visit this nice place , and they have a pretty cool cafe inside with enjoyable eats !

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

There is few free museums in the Philippines, it's open for public entrance to the Central Banks and quite strict. The museums in small but quite new and pleasant. We have audio guides but it's not necessary as we have lots of written info posted on the things shown. The money showcased were from the time of using gold as money and shows other "money" too. There were also "notes" uses by the rebels we call guerrillas during the occupation time. There are also old jewelry pieces shown which shows intricate designs typically used by old times and usually religious related like a necklace which looks similar to a rosary made in gold.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

when i visited (Sunday May 27th 2012), only few rooms were open to the public. The building is huge, and i guess only about 10% of the space had something on display. Here again, like in then National Museum (only a couple 100 metres away), the temperature is a welcome change from the heat.
The set-up is quite old-fashioned, but over-all you get a good impression of Philippino art. As in the National Museum, admission is free (I visited on a Sunday), it only takes filling up your name in the guest book.
There was a nice exhibition of Hidalgo, as well as an exhibition on Philippino clothing

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great art gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The museum / art gallery is housed in a concrete edifice I was told was originally intended to be for a military museum and looks a bit like a concrete bunker next to the Central Bank building. The outer shell belies the beauty inside - a fairly spacious gallery with a number of pieces tastefully displayed. At the time of our visit most of the space was dedicated to contemporary Filipino artists with a small display of works by Luna and Hidalgo and a section with various religious icons. Unfortunately the gold and ceramics section was closed since we were visiting on a Saturday.

The museum is run by a civil society organisation set up in the 1970s in conjunction with the Central Bank, and the care they have given to the gallery and its exhibits is clear. Well worth a visit at about $2 to appreciate some of the history of Filipino art and more of its contemporary flavour.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nicest Museum in Manila”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Known for its outstanding exhibit of gold artifacts and pottery from the metal age, it is much more. While the gold is impressive, we also really enjoyed the interesting collection of contemporary art, mostly from Filipino artists. The physical space is good and the exibits were displayed well. Well worth a visit, and much better than the National Museum.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan Museum of Art also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Metropolitan Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Museum of Art to your Saves list