We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time inside intramuros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manila Cathedral

Manila Cathedral
Cabildo cor Beaterio | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
632 5273093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 69 Attractions in Manila
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Former Philippine archbishops are buried in a crypt under the altar of this majestic cathedral, whose 1951 completion commemorated the the five versions that came before it.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“first time inside intramuros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

enjoyed the history of the cathedral,amazing to know its history it had been damaged by earthquakes and rebuilt several times,plus it is a great building to enter and to look at,intramuros is an interesting area..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    93
    44
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Worth a quick look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I drove past this hotel on my latest visit to Manila and took some photos but did not go inside, as I had been inside on my previous visit in 2002. On that visit I saw guards armed with rifles at the ready, as there have been robberies right inside the church.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
“EUROPEAN ARCHITECTURE DISPLAY...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This historic church summed up the european architecture of the numerous churches built by the spaniards four to five hundred years ago in the Philippines...It is remarkable that it was built adjacent to the military post of Fort Santiago where mostly prominent Filipino insurgents during the Spanish occupation were incarcerated and awaiting for their final ordeal...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“the church of grandest wedding events!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I look forward to another experience to witness wedding rites in this historical place. this is another landmark we should be proud of.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent, calm place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Manila was once a key port of call for the Spanish galleons that transported vast wealth from Asia back to Spain. The grandeur of the cathedral, set in the historic quarter, Intramuros, reflects the importance of the belief system that came with the trading link and took such firm root in the Philippines.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manila Cathedral also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
 

Been to Manila Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.