We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old classic church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malate Church

Malate Church
Remedios & M H del Pilar Sts, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 119 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Also known as "Our Lady of Miraculous Medal," the Virgin Mary image in the Malate Church is where the Filipino have prayed in times of trouble for over four centuries.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
633 reviews 633 reviews
259 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Old classic church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

The Malate Catholic Church was originally built in 1588 by the Augustinian (OSA) friars and is considered one of the oldest churches in Manila, outside the walls of Intramuros. through the years it has been damaged by natural disasters and it has been rebuilt several times over the past four centuries. the bricks of the outside of the church is black and grey. alot of marriages are held in this church. Worth the visit.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sight but tough location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 NEW

Don't get me wrong, this church is beautiful and is a sight everyone should see. I do suggest you think about the area a little bit first. I walked from the New World hotel down to the church. I was ok going solo because I know the area and it doesn't bother me. If you are on edge about poverty or a female walking alone I wouldn't recommend the walk. Take a taxi instead. All of that aside, the church itself is a great place to visit.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not Such A Holy Palm Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Friends took my wife and me to palm Sunday Mass at Malate Church. It was good from my point of view because the priest was Irish and the mass was said in English rather than tugalog.
The church is very ornate with lots of statues and pictures but because a mass was in progress and the church was packed I did not take photos.
A WORD OF WARNING
While in church my mobile phone was stolen from a buttoned pocket. I reported it to the police and was advised to be aware of children who are trained to pick pockets. Because the church was crowded and we were surrounded by people close it was easy to be targetted.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Full of Character and History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I attended mass here on a recent visit to Manila. The Church is old and in need of a lot of repairs. The state of the Church does not take away from the feeling of history it has.
Mass was celebrated by an Irish Priest, it was amazing that I know his brother well.
I was made to feel very welcome by the congregation I met when I was there.
If you are not a Catholic or a religious person, I would still encourage you to visit and wonder at the History there.
Each time I return to Manila I make a point of visiting and I hope I can do this if I am lucky to visit another time.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A true feeling of warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I'm not really a great fan of churches, but there is someting in the atmosphere at the Malate Church that envelopes you with a feeling of warmth. No grand architecture or marvelous paintings here, just nice vibes.

Also, you might be interested in a section close to the front of the church that tells you about its history, particularly during WWII under the Japanese occupation.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malate Church also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Malate Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malate Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.