We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming but very holy despite very near the bars in Malate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malate Church

Malate Church
Remedios & M H del Pilar Sts, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 79 Attractions in Manila
Type: Religious Sites, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Also known as "Our Lady of Miraculous Medal," the Virgin Mary image in the Malate Church is where the Filipino have prayed in times of trouble for over four centuries.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unassuming but very holy despite very near the bars in Malate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I find this church very holy. It offers serenity esp. when you visit at dawn. this offers a respite from a very intoxicating scenes of malate by night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“malate church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

all of manila is within walking distance from here, a radius of two hundred meters, from the alley of the Mini Stop across Baywatch Tower where i drink coffee and look around to see what's happening on Mabini Street next to Mr Woman nightclub, towards the churchyard and the restaurants around the square where the homeless dwell, then on Del Pilar i return to Sohotel, a short distance where not much happens beside the motion of the rush hour at the junction as cars and jeepneys criss-cross and go away,
i used to go as far as Adriatico for a beer at the Rendez-vous or Erraz with Eric, which is around the next corner behind the church, but not anymore,
i don't remember the last time i had a communion, or that i have knelt in a church, and among the congregation, i was the only foreigner,
walking towards the altar, i sensed staring eyes in my back and from the outer limit of my sight faces turned as if they were swiftly withdrawn,
the priest talked about the saints whose paintings were on the walls, about God and good and evil, but St Marc's and St luck's physical appearance were etched in a mozaique of colorful glasses, an inlaid artisan work as if glued by the dark lines of lead holding it together on the upperside of the big door in half a circle, and the priest talked about them as well,
the locals stood up, sat down, kneeled and crossed their faces with no hesitation or second thought,
some of the faithful passing from del pilar to mabini through the yard, coming through the door stopped by the door and doused the tip of a finger in the holy water, stood there for a minute and walked out,
this morning, a cyclist wearing lycra outfit and a helmet acted in the same manner, going home after his morning exercise behind the yatch club, and doused again his finger and tipped the holy water on his bicycle's seat and handlebars, crossed himself and walked away.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
726 reviews 726 reviews
406 attraction reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
1,736 helpful votes 1,736 helpful votes
“A Glimpse of Old Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As a devoutly Catholic country, The Philippines has no shortage of churches. For the tourist, the challenge is to work out which ones are worth seeing and which ones are best left to the local congregation. Like much of this city, Malate Church suffered terrible damage during the firestorm of WW2, so most of the interior of this church is a replacement, but the solemn stone facade is still original and there is no doubt that this is a fine historic church. Still, finding itself in the down-at- heel entertainment district of Malate, it is surrounded by sin and seediness on all sides, so its run of bad luck may not be over yet. This is worth a quick look for those staying around here; for the rest of you, you don't need to feel bad if you come to Manila and miss this.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“charming church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

it is an old church and this is memorable for me because this is the church where i was baptized. it still has the old feel vibe

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A peaceful hotel in Malate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's been quite a while since I was in the vicinity of Malate, so might as well attend a mass at Malate Church. Currently the church is undergoing some minor renovation. It is centrally located within Malate Area. A blessed way to visit before the tour starts.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malate Church also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Malate Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malate Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.