We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Chinatown in the World” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Binondo

Binondo
Bounded by the river | Claro M. Recto Avenue and Avenida Rizal, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 69 Attractions in Manila
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The "Chinatown" of Manila, the Binondo area offers everything from Buddhist temples to pawn shops and Chinese restaurants.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
301 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Oldest Chinatown in the World”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Binondo area is home to the ethnic Chinese population in the Philippines. It is here where you will find the oldest Chinatown in the world dating back to the 16th century. Long before the arrival of the Spanish colonizers Binondo was already the center of trade and commerce in Manila. Binondo's glorious days started during the time when the Spanish Galleon was plying regularly between Acapulco and Manila. Today, it is still a shopper's haven as business continue to flourish in this part of the city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    20
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“If you need lighting , hardware, construction and building supplies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

T. Alonzo , T . Mapua and Soler Streets in the Binondo area are where all the lighting, electrical , hardware , construction , maritime supplies are . My husband and I have been coming here for the past 6 months to look and buy for building supplies. Two weeks ago we went shopping for ceiling lights and chandeliers. Most of the lights were made in China , but are designed in Europe or the USA. Normally people there say that they open at 9 AM . Do not believe this , as most are readily opened only by 930 AM or 10 AM. You can just see the staff sitting outside of their closed stores by 9 AM. Haggle if you must. If the goods are too heavy for you, you may ask the men who work in the store to help bring the things to your car. You may give a tip of 50 to 100 pesos ( a little over 1 to 2 US Dollars ) Not all goods are genuine though.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“awesome foodtrip spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

different kinds of chinese food are available here. Good for solo or group food trips. Authentic chinese stores and as well as Mcdonalds and Starbucks can be found here.

Other than the food establishments, there's also a catholic church(Ongpin Church), a park, a school and banks.

Will go back here on the 2015 Chinese New year to experience the core chinatown.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rough Chinatown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Was told to go to this Chinese restuarant everyone raved about. When we got there it was packed. The food was good but nothing great. I grew up on Chinese food and was a bit disappointed. To be fair, it was the best meal we had in the Philippines because the baseline standard for food in the Philippines is horrible.
After eating, we decided to walk do the street. We were harrassed by a swarm of homeless children poking and pulling at us. The poverty sadden me but I felt violated by the aggressive behavior of these children.
It is not the Chinatowns I have been to around the world. NYC Chinatown looks like the Four Seasons compared to Binondo.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Eats !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Went to Chinatown in Binondo with some friends who live in the Intramuros area, and had some of the best chinese food ever !
Can't remember what the name of the restaurant was, but it was very popular, and quite busy, even at the late hour that we were there.
My local friends say that there really isn't a bad chinese restaurant in Binondo.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Binondo also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Binondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Binondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.